Sitting here waiting for sleep

Posted on

The kids have been so clingy lately. They will not go to bed unless I sit in the room with them. We’ve tried closing the door and letting them cry it out but that’s not working. So I sit on Angel’s little white chair, that used to be Grandma Barb’s little white chair when she was a little girl, and wait for them to fall asleep, trying not to pay attention to the fact that they keep sneaking out of their beds to get a different baby or book.

Now Caleb is dumping his pillow and all his blankets on the floor.  And Angel never sleeps with blankets. Don’t they realize it’s 50 below? 

Pat is getting ready to do Jillian. We just watched The Biggest Loser and so now he’s psyched up again. I, on the other hand, am tired and would really enjoy some chocolate ice cream right now.  Even though I haven’t been exercising much I’m still holding strong at 134.  Today though I had 15 M-M’s, a Coke and a small piece of chocolate cake so unless I do Jillian that number is likely to climb.

I have some exciting news to share with you in the next few weeks. I’m not pregnant – that’s impossible remember. We’re not adopting again (yet).  I don’t know the exact specifics of my good news but hopefully will soon.  How’s that for a cliffhanger.

Both Angel and Caleb have been so lippy lately.  Caleb’s all about saying no to anything we say. Angel on the other hand, lips off like she’s 14.  She’ll say things like, “You don’t talk to me like that,” or “You don’t tell me what to do.”  Or she’ll threaten us like just now she said, “FINE! Then I’m not going to cover up!” (What else is new). 

Things in our house are definitely alot better since we stopped going to daycare.  Grandma Barb is watching them fulltime right now until we decide what to do long term.  I’m not sure why it was so traumatic for Angel but she’s a completely different person.  She still misses us of course but it was almost like she went into a depression.  Like my mom said though, eventually she’s going to have to leave the house and we know that’s true. We are pretty much forcing her to go to pre-3 preschool on Friday mornings. She has a pretty bad meltdown when we leave but then she’s ok and has fun. She has a great teacher who is so patient.

Pat says he’s taking me dancing on Friday. We have a place in our town that has open ballroom dancing on Friday nights for $10. Now that we’re a little bit in shape we might not have a heart attack!  I’m looking forward to it although I’ve never done any ballroom dancing so hopefully I don’t look like an idiot.

Close. They are very close to sleep. The jumping and talking has stopped. That’s always a good sign.

We carved our pumpkins this weekend and Caleb was completely grossed out by it. My mom got it on video so hopefully she’ll post it to her blog and then I’ll link to it.  Angel loved it and helped me clean out the pumpkin. Daddy carved really funny faces and we put a candle in them.  We roasted the seeds although I put garlic on them and interestingly they kinda burned.  They don’t taste awful, just not the best.

Angel is still not potty trained. We’re back to wearing diapers although every once in awhile she’ll go on the toilet.  It’s very frustrating because for about 2 weeks this summer she was wearing underwear and staying pretty dry.  Right now we’re not even asking because she has a fit every time.  I know I’m going to have to get to the place where I just let her wear underwear and we deal with messes. I so don’t want to get to that place. 

It’s quiet. I think they are asleep. But I’m afraid to move because Caleb hears every move I make.  I’ll spend the last few minutes praying for them and then it’s off to bed for me too.

I have not stopped giving thanks for you, remembering you in my prayers. I keep asking that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the glorious Father, may give you the Spirit of wisdom and revelation, so that you may know him better. I pray also that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened in order that you may know the hope to which he has called you, the riches of his glorious inheritance in the saints, and his incomparably great power for us who believe. Ephesians 1:16-19

 

One thought on “Sitting here waiting for sleep

    Jessi Schmidt said:
    October 27, 2010 at 3:45 pm

    Sorry to hear that daycare didn’t work out! I know my kids would probably do the same thing as Angel. We tried the church nursery and Ethan and Mia screamed bloody murder the entire time they were there. One church lady was holding Ethan and one was holding Mia! No day job for me for awhile!

Leave a Reply

