I have so much to tell you I don’t know where to start

Posted on

That title might be a little deceiving. It should probably say something about wasting your time reading about my boring life.

~My baby boy is almost 2 years old. He’s starting to talk alot more. He still punches and kicks and throws things across the room when he’s mad. He sat on the potty chair last night for a few minutes, got down, ran into the kitchen and peed on the floor.  He doesn’t stop running. He loves to have books read to him. He’s still the best cuddler.

~Pat is taking me dancing tomorrow night. For reals.

~A few weeks ago the kids and I went to our church’s moms and kids outing to the Fire Station. It was pretty cool and the kids loved it. They even sat in the fire truck all by themselves.  Just as the fireman was giving a demonstration of all his gear they got an actual fire call. The sirens went off, they apologized, gave us our stickers and coloring books, jumped in the truck and told us to lock up!  Even though our visit was cut short it was neat for the kids to see them in action!

You can’t tell by this next picture, but they really are having fun!

~Angel is all about challenging everything we say lately and doing everything possible to try to get a reaction out of us. Unfortunately alot of the time she gets a reaction out of us.

~I know when you look at this face you don’t believe a word I say. You’re just gonna have to trust me on that last one.

~Conversation at supper last night:

Pat: Angel, if a very cute taco asked you to marry him what would you say?

Angel: I don’t know.

Pat: Would you marry the cute taco?

Angel: No. I’m going to marry you daddy.

(Awwww.)

(Taco is not a typo.)

~Yesterday when I weighed myself I had gained 4 pounds and was up to 137. But this morning I was back down to 133. Whew. Although it would make sense since I’m only exercising about once a week and not keeping track very well of what I eat.  Need to get back on the wagon and lose those last 3 pounds. I know weight doesn’t really matter but it’s still good for me to have a goal.

~Caleb got a brain freeze the other night.  The kids were eating popsicles and as usual, Caleb was eating too fast. All of a sudden he throws his popsicle into the bowl and starts screaming and then acting like he couldn’t breath or something. I had no idea what was wrong but my mom was here and figured out that it must have been a brain freeze. Poor baby.

~We have an ongoing debate in our family about whether you get pain in your neck or head when you get a brain freeze. Come on, right? Brain freeze obviously means you get a headache.

~The kiddos fight like cats and dogs. I really struggle with just letting them be kids and all that stuff because I absolutely hate conflict. But I’m trying to just let some things go.  And then Caleb does a body slam on top of Angel and she can’t breathe and I blame Pat because it’s all his fault Caleb is such a monster.  (Right?)  Of course two minutes later they are best buds and reading together.

~A few weeks ago Angel had her first dentist appointment. She did really great!  I, on the other hand, did not.  Pat sat with Angel and I was in the room next door getting my own teeth cleaned. Angel did really good with the cleaning but then when the dentist came in she started to freak out a bit.  I was dying. Not because I think it’s my job to make everything ok. Really.  Because it was my baby girl’s first dentist appointment, she was freaking out, and well, it’s my job to make everything ok.  The dental assistant must have noticed my squirming because she says, “I can take a break if you want to go in there.”  Praise the Lord!  After a bit more coaxing from mama Angel finally opened her mouth for the dentist.

Ever wonder what you look like when you’re at the dentist? After Angel was done she sat in the corner of the room I was in while I finished. And took pictures.

~One of Angel’s favorite tv shows is How It’s Made.  She will sit with Daddy and watch episode after episode.

~Caleb has taken to running away from us. At church. In stores. Wherever we are. Unfortunately nothing deters him from doing this. If we ignore him he just runs farther. If we chase him he runs farther. If we discipline him he’s sorry and then the next opportunity he has he runs.  If we try to reward him for making good choices he shakes his head yes at us like he understands. And then runs.  It is really scary because the little stinker runs fast and just like that he’s gone.  Any ideas?

~This weekend we’re going to give potty training a try again. Angel continues to have no interest what so ever. Caleb however has started to tell when he goes to the bathroom. He says, “Poop, poop!” even if he just goes potty.  He also likes to sit on the big potty chair. So this weekend we’re all gonna run around naked. Well not all of us. Just the children.  Pray for us if you think about it.  When we were trying all those years to have kids I would always think, “I’ll never complain about diapers.”  I was wrong.  I’m ready to be done with diapers.  But wait – that means my babies are growing up.  And I’m so not ready for that.  All I know for sure is that this mom stuff is hard on my heart.

~Have you heard this song? Thanks to my mom for sharing it.

6 thoughts on “I have so much to tell you I don’t know where to start

    Emily said:
    November 18, 2010 at 10:27 pm

    Just a suggestion on the potty training. If you are going to work on it this weekend, try to stay home as much as possible. Give them lots of salty snacks and lots of liquids so they can get a ton of practice. And great idea on keeping them naked from the waist down. So you can catch them in the act! 🙂 Good luck – we’ll be praying!

      Missy said:
      November 19, 2010 at 7:04 pm

      thanks! hadn’t heard of the salty snacks so they drink more – that’s a great idea. i think the hard part is training mommy! 🙂

    Kandi said:
    November 19, 2010 at 5:50 am

    Potty training is HARD! 🙂 It turned into a control issue for Ava. Nothing worked until I found a ballet class that started right after her 3rd b-day. I told her she couldn’t go unless she stopped wearing diapers and she was completely potty trained in two days. Find something Angel REALLY wants. I’m a great believer in bribery! 😉

      Missy said:
      November 19, 2010 at 7:03 pm

      mmm, good idea. will have to think of something!

    Princess said:
    November 19, 2010 at 9:42 am

    can i watch next time caleb has a brain freeze?! pretty please?! that was halarious!

      Missy said:
      November 19, 2010 at 7:03 pm

      lol. we felt bad cause we laughed at him. it was pretty funny! 🙂

Leave a Reply

