I never thought I’d be happy to be the biggest loser

Posted on Updated on

~I’m watching The Biggest Loser (dvr’d) right now and I’m getting inspired to get back in the game of exercising. Tonight’s episode is the final 4 running a marathon. So inspiring. I’m been able to maintain my weight and continue to eat for the most part healthy, but I really need to start exercising again.

It’s just so cold outside though. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

~My employer does a Biggest Loser contest and I’m so excited to tell you that I tied for first place!  When they announced the beginning of the contest Pat and I were a little bummed because the contest started after we had already lost 10-15 pounds. But I still was able to lose another 12 pounds during the contest. My darling hubby probably would have won had he weighed in on the last day. He was feeling discouraged and thinking he had gained some weight back so he didn’t weigh in.

Since there was a tie for 1st place they combined the prize money for 1st and 2nd and split it between me and the other winner. So now I have a $40 gift card to Kohl’s to do a little clothes shopping. I can’t wait!

~My mom has started doing Jillian’s 30 Day Shred and eating healthy (and losing weight!). I’m so proud of her!

~I recently bought Paul Newman’s Light Dressing, the Honey Mustard variety. Oh my word, it’s awesome. And only 70 calories per serving! That, along with avocado are what I now substitute for sour cream, mayonnaise or ranch dressing.

~Pat and I have made a commitment to each other to always split a meal when we go out to eat.  Do you realize that meals at restaurants range between 800-1500 calories? Some are even higher than that.  My daily allowance to maintain my weight is 1500 calories, 1300 to continue to lose weight!  We haven’t consistently kept our commitment however when we have gone out we’ve tried to do a good job of only eating 1/2 the meal and bringing the rest home.  It’s still hard though and I think we just need to try to really limit how often we eat out.

~My mom introduced me to a new snack. Nature Valley Granola Thins.  They come in dark chocolate or peanut butter and are yummy! Only 80 calories per serving. Still not as healthy as fresh fruits or veggies but much better than what I used to snack on.

~The Coke, it has kicked my butt. I had completely cut it out for about 2 months but now I’m back to having about one a day. Not consistently every day, so I guess that’s good. But I need to really be careful that I don’t let that get out of control. The calories add up fast when you’re drinking soda and juices.

~Well Biggest Loser is over and I think I’m going to go for a run.   I suppose it doesn’t count if I’m running in my sleep, huh. Well maybe tomorrow it’ll warm up a bit.

Leave a Reply

