Below zero wind chills and 8 inches of snow is not going to stop our anniversary date and other nonsense

Posted on

~Tomorrow is our 8th anniversary. Our meaning me and Patrick. Just in case you were wondering. Supposedly it’s my year to plan our anniversary although I thought I planned it last year. And the year before. I believe that my darling husband is taking advantage of the fact that since having kids I don’t remember a thing.

Anyway I’ve been able to keep everything a surprise so far. And unfortunately since he might read my blog I can’t give you any details yet. I can show you what we’re wearing…

My husband is going to look amazing and I’m going to freeze to death. Perfect anniversary date, don’t ya think?  Having an anniversary on New Year’s Eve is alot of fun but it’s also so crazy everywhere we go that it’s kind of a pain. But I think I’ve come up with a date that’s going to be awesome. It does require us to stay up until midnight. Not sure how that’s gonna happen, but we’ll give it a try.

And the good part about 2010 New Year’s Eve. The blizzard that’s on it’s way.  Fabulous.  Kinda reminds me of our marriage. Unpredictable and prone to erupt with bitter and cold.  (Kidding. Sort of.)   We seriously are suppose to have 30-40 mile an hour winds, wind  chills below zero and I think the last prediction was 5-8 inches of snow.  It’s on days like these that I’m so thankful Pat hasn’t sold his Jeep (even though I’ve asked him to a hundred times).   I might have to wear my snowsuit over my dress, but hey, I’ll all about making things work. I’ll keep you posted on how that turns out.

~Yesterday was my last day of work. It was bittersweet as I will really miss all my co-workers and I enjoyed my job. But I’m also thankful to be home with my kiddos. I’m scared to start my new job, which I start on Monday. It’s been over 11 years since I’ve done something completely new. Even when I went to work for the church in 2007 I knew all the staff and had been volunteering so it wasn’t entirely new.  So that part of this adventure really scares me. All the feelings of will they like me, will I like them, will I be able to learn the job, will I hate it, what have I done????

~So because of all those icky feelings (and maybe because it’s that time of the month), and because it’s icky outside and I don’t feel good (I ache all over-please don’t let me be getting sick) I’m really crabby today. I had all these grand plans of crafts and an outing with the kids. But the weather stinks and my attitude stinks and now I just want to stay home in pj’s and watch television all day.

~(Warning – personal female information coming)

Yes, I still have “that time of the month” emotional ups and downs. Even though I had a hysterectomy, they left my ovaries so I have the pleasure of still going through all the hormonal things. It’s not as bad as it used to be but I can still tell when I’m having PMS. Thank goodness I don’t have all the other stuff to go along with it.  Although on crabby, cloudy days like today I think about that too and how I’m only 37 and even though I probably wouldn’t have ever gotten pregnant again I’m sad that I can never ever no possible way get pregnant.

~Today is the day that I need to get our budget in order. Because now that I quit my full-time, great paying job we are going to be broke. The jury is still out if this whole plan is going to work but we are just trusting that it will. Probably no more eating out and alot of eating mac-n-cheese and hot dogs.  I need to re-read this book, because it has some great tips. Maybe try to start clipping coupons, price shop all the stores, etc. It’s time to get serious.

~I don’t want to take down my Christmas decorations. I love love them. They make the house feel so warm and cozy. And I think one reason I love to have them up is because I have no other decorations for the rest of the year. When the two babies came along, we of course had to baby proof. So all I have is pictures in frames as decorations throughout the year. After being in our house for just under 8 years, there are still walls with no decorations. Just two weeks ago, I finally bought a few wall decorations for my bedroom.  So anyway, that’s one reason I love having the decorations out.  I need to shop the clearance sections after each of the upcoming holidays and seasons so I can start decorating again, now that the kids might just not destroy everything. They’ve left the Christmas decorations alone pretty good so I think there’s promise.

~If anyone (my darling husband included) says to me one more time that “I don’t work anymore” I’m going to go completely postal. Has anyone spent an entire day with my darling angels? (Grandma Barb, this is where you speak up). That’s more work than working 2 full time jobs.  But I’m thankful. And challenged. And scared. And thankful and blessed and I can’t wait to make lots of memories.  After I get out of this funk.

~Well it’s going on 8:30 am and the kids still need diapers changed. I’ve managed to take a shower but I suppose I should take care of my children.

 

Enjoy your day!

3 thoughts on “Below zero wind chills and 8 inches of snow is not going to stop our anniversary date and other nonsense

    Laenie said:
    December 30, 2010 at 11:35 am

    Just leaving you a little smile and nod, from one “working” mother to another..
    God help us!
    Today! Right now!
    (it’s a good thing the gingerbread cake is coming out of the oven in 10 minutes.. it’s a minute-to-minute kind of day today *sigh*)

    Kandi Tucker said:
    December 30, 2010 at 12:25 pm

    Hey Missy,

    I seriously have tons of tips for managing a budget on one income. Let me know if you’re interested. I don’t want to force anything on you. I’m sure you know most of it since you seem to read a bunch of cool blogs. Still… coupon clipping rocks!!!!! We only “rent” movies from our local libray (FREE) and buy 1-2 movies a year on super sale around Christmas. Lots of tips like that. 🙂

    You may not be able to live your current lifestyle but life will be equally as rich and rewarding.

    Kandi

      Missy said:
      December 30, 2010 at 7:00 pm

      Thanks Kandi! I appreciate any tips you have! I know alot of it will be making different choices – right now we have the money so we spend it and so we’re going to have to break some not so good habits. Appreciate your encouragement! 🙂

Leave a Reply

