In 2011

Posted on

Another year. Another day. Another minute. To make a difference. Love more. Forgive.

In 2011 I want to…

1. Love more. Be more patient.  Give of myself more freely. I was so inspired by this post and also this one. Because 99.9% of the time it’s all about me. My feelings, my wants, my needs.  But it’s not, is it? I wish I could remember that.  Maybe in 2011.

2. Read my Bible more.  Well, how about just read my Bible. If it’s non-existent it can’t really be “more”, right.  This post was such an encouragement to me. I’m going to leave my Bible open in 2011.

3. Memorize scripture.  When God’s Word is in my heart it effects everything in my life. It changes me. It helps me have the strength and desire to do #1 with all my heart.  Beth’s Moore challenge is helping me.  Verse #1 is hanging on our bathroom mirror and is in my make-shift little book that I carry in my purse. Ephesians 4:1-3. Pat is going to join along and I’m excited to watch God move mightily!

4. Cherish what’s important.  A few days before Christmas this family lost their home and every single belonging they owned.  I’ve been inspired by her posts since then. I can’t even imagine. But each day in 2011 I want to not take for granted what I’ve been blessed with. I want to remember that it can be gone in the blink of an eye. I want to spend my time cherishing the people in my life, loving my Jesus and not loving the things that really mean nothing.

5. Use my dishwasher less.  Our dishwasher died a few weeks ago. Since then the dishes have been piling up in my sink. And every once in awhile I’ll wash them by hand. Yes, I’m that lazy. 

Now a goal for the new year of using my dishwasher less might seem kind of silly. But washing my dishes by hand these past few weeks has been inspiring.  I’ve never liked washing dishes. My husband and children can attest to that. But the first day I spent about an hour washing dishes it was soothing. The radio was on and the sudsy water was so hot. I looked out the window and saw the snow and drizzle coming down and I felt safe standing at my sink washing dishes. The kids actually played nice most of the day. And I washed. 

I thought about how Jesus washes away my grime and muck. I thought about the many blessings I’d been given. So much to be thankful for. Including hands and fingers to wash dishes. Money to pay for soap and water.  I had been in a funk that day but it slowly started to slip away.  Who knew a sudsy sink and counterful of dishes could have that soothing effect on a person.

6. Everything else I want to do. This post could go on and on. Stay healthy. Start exercising again. Stay on budget. Play with my kids more. Write letters. Be a better friend.  But it all goes back to #1 doesn’t it?

In 2011, I want to love more.

What do you want to do?

Leave a Reply

