1000

Posted on Updated on

This is my 1000th post!

(Make sure you read to the end because I’m giving away free stuff this week in honor of my 1000th post!)

I started this blog in June 2007 as we were in the middle of our adoption journey.  2007 seems like just yesterday, but it was 4 years ago! I can’t believe it.  Since then alot in life has changed…

~I became a mom through the miracle of adoption.

~I became a mom through the miracle of conception.

~Princess graduated from high school.

~Princess fell in love.

~Princess got married.

~I quit my full-time job to work part-time and then went full-time again and now am finally part-time again.

~I made connections and developed friendships with some pretty awesome blog ladies. Like her. And her. And her. And her.

~I made a blog friend and we eventually realized we lived in the same time. We finally were able to meet just recently.

~I reconnected with old friends. High school friends. College friends. Friends I’d lost touch with. Friends I’d hurt. Friends who have offered grace and forgiveness.

~We went into debt, got out of debt, went back into debt and now are slowly making our way out again.

~My marriage struggled. And thrived. We grew apart. And then back together again. Day by day we’ve fallen more in love.

~I struggled in my faith. I doubted God.   I’ve struggled to know His plan. I’ve tried to trust.  He was faithful. Is faithful.  Day by day I’ve fallen more in love with Jesus.

Thank you for being a faithful reader of Grasp the Love.  While I mainly write to have a journal of our family and to hopefully give glory to God and share my faith, part of my writing is also for you. I hope you’ve been encouraged these last 4 years by spending time with our family and getting a glimpse into my heart and crazy head.

To say thank you I’m having 3 giveaways over the next 3 days!   I know I have alot of readers that don’t comment. But I hope over the next 3 days you’ll take a minute to say hi – not only to get a chance at winning but also so I can know who you are – and I promise to pray for you too. That’s gotta be the best giveaway of all!

GIVEAWAY #1 – two amazing books!

One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are by Ann Voskamp

The one thing I have loved about the blog community is the encouragement I have received. Ann Voskamp’s blog, A Holy Experience has been such an inspiration to me, especially in these past few years as mothering two young children often brings tears, frustration and feelings of inadequacy. Her writing is so unique, yet it uplifts and it always, always, always points to the cross and the love of Christ.  Even if you’ve already read it or it’s not the type of reading you find enjoyable, this book would be a perfect gift for a new mom, a college grad, or someone who is going through something extremely difficult.

…and Practicing Affirmation: God-Centered Praise of Those Who Are Not God by Sam Crabtree.

Pastor Sam Crabtree is Executive Pastor of Bethlehem Baptist in Minneapolis, MN (You might have heard of John Piper, he’s Sr Pastor there). Pastor Sam was the pastor at Brookings Wesleyan where I came to know Christ in college. He and his lovely wife and two amazing daugthers were my surrogate family throughout college. Unfortunately we lost touch but through my blog I came in contact with Dawn, one of his daugthers and have been able to reconnect with the entire family. I’ve yet to see any of them in person but I can’t wait for that day to give them hugs and thank them for showing the love of Christ to me.  This book isn’t released yet, but if you win you’ll get a copy sent to you. I am so excited to read this book and be encouraged in my relationships. I know that you will be blessed too.

You can sign  up 3 times to win!

1. Post a link to this post on Facebook.

2. Write a blog post about this post and giveaways this week.

3. Leave a comment and make sure to include your email address so I can contact you if you win. (Leave a comment by clicking on the “comment” link on the left hand side right underneath the title.)

When you leave a comment make sure to let me know if you posted on Facebook or wrote a blog post and then I’ll enter your name 3 times in the drawing!  I’ll randomly draw a name on Friday for the winner!

Thanks again for reading Grasp the Love. My prayer for you will continue to be…

For this reason I kneel before the Father, from whom every familyin heaven and on earth derives its name. I pray that out of his glorious riches he may strengthen you with power through his Spirit in your inner being, so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith. And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, may have power, together with all the Lord’s holy people, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge—that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.  Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.  Ephesians 3:14-21

And don’t forget to come back tomorrow for our second giveaway!

(Disclaimer: Ann Voskamp has no idea who I am. Sam Crabtree does know who I am. Neither one of them are aware that I am writing about or giving away their books. I just think they are super cool and have great books.)

10 thoughts on “1000

    Kristin S said:
    January 17, 2011 at 7:03 pm

    You know me. 😉

    Jenny said:
    January 17, 2011 at 7:55 pm

    Friend, I am…humbled. For I am a mess most days. Too hurried, too short tempered with my children, too out of tune to hear the Voice that I crave…

    And yet, your words draw me in. Into a reconnection with you, and into a tiny grain of sand-sized connection with God. And for that, I am thankful. And for you, I am thankful.

    You mentioned your faith struggle, your doubt in God. And how you’ve come out on the other side better, stronger. I walked that road a decade ago and ended with a stronger faith – only to “feel”…nothing. Feeling like I couldn’t hear from God, feeling like there was a wall between heavens and earth. It’s only been now, these last few years, that the wall has cracked and crumbled so that I can start to feel, start to open up, again.

    If all that makes sense.

    Beautiful post. I’m trying to decide if I want Ann’s real book or the e-version for my iPOD.

      Jenny said:
      January 17, 2011 at 8:06 pm

      …and I’m replying to my own reply. Nerd. I never emailed you, but your card was such a blessing to me! I cried – CRIED – studying the pictures and reading it. Josh wanted to know who all the people were, so I was filling him all in – I was way more excited than he was, I’m afraid. Such a blessing to my heart!

    sincerelyanna said:
    January 17, 2011 at 8:03 pm

    You are such an encouragement to me. I’ve enjoyed reading your blog all these years and becoming friends over the magic of the internet. I’ll never forget when you sent me those cans of formula when I needed them!! Happy 1000th post, you’re awesome. These books sound terrific!

    Samantha Sehr said:
    January 17, 2011 at 10:44 pm

    I enjoy reading your posts, too! Especially since Caleb and Moriah are so close in age- it makes me feel better about myself as a mom to see that you are going through the same stuff! Blessings on your next 4 plus years of blogging!

    Emily A said:
    January 18, 2011 at 3:07 pm

    Thanks for being genuine. It’s refreshing. Thanks for giving me lots to think about over the past couple of years. 🙂

    Stacy Carroll said:
    January 18, 2011 at 4:51 pm

    Hi Missy!!
    I am so glad to have connected with my classmates on facebook and I enjoy reading your blogs; they make me laugh, cry, and reflect on what is important. And even if we don’t have much in common in our lives, I find myself understanding and feeling alot of the same things you share on your blog:) Keep’em coming!

    mom said:
    January 19, 2011 at 8:57 pm

    Missy! I did not know that Pastor Crabtree was at the same church as John Piper! I LOVE John Piper and study his messages often!

    Teri said:
    January 20, 2011 at 12:24 am

    Thanks for connecting to my blog!!! 🙂

    Dawn said:
    January 20, 2011 at 10:05 am

    Congratulations on your 1000th post! I squealed with delighted when I saw that you are giving dad’s book away! Super cool! You don’t need to enter me in your drawing – I just wanted to comment on this post! I can’t wait to see you at Hearts at Home!!!

Leave a Reply

