Friday night

Posted on

~The 3 giveaways from this week are closed now. I’ll draw names this weekend and let you know who the winners are. Thanks everyone for all your comments. I’m pretty sure I bawled when I read every single one.  You all rock.

~I made a super duper low calorie meal tonight.  I started by cutting up probably a pound of boneless chicken breast and sauteing that in a couple teaspoons of extra virgin olive oil. Meanwhile I cooked noodles – I used elbow macaroni just because it’s the kids favorite and it’s one kind that I can find without egg. Once the chicken was done I added a can of diced tomatoes, the juice of one lemon, maybe 1/2 cup of chicken broth and about 2 cups of spinach. I let that cook for awhile and last minute added a little pepper.

I served the chicken/spinach mixture over about 1/2 cooked noodles. I figured out the calories to be about 250 for one serving and that’s probably on the high side. And I took a picture for you but  my camera is pretty much dead and the lighting and focus doesn’t work right.

Well yes. Yes I did eat a bread stick or two also. Those were about 50 calories each.  This would have also been good with some sausage in it but I didn’t have any. There’s so much you can do to a dish by adding tomatoes, lemon juice or spinach. It just adds a little something and it’s very low calorie and healthy.

~I’ve been trying to do crafts with the kids every day.  I’m really struggling to love this time because I have no patience what-so-ever loving this time.  We attempted to make little men yesterday. The kids thought they were cool but I was very annoyed by the fact that our little men didn’t look like the little men in the picture.  Please pray for my kids that they won’t be permanently scarred by my perfectionism.

Today I stole an idea from Angel’s Preschool and we made octopus.

They turned out pretty cute. Except for the whole paint thing and two toddlers and paint thing which about drove me to start sniffing that paint. (Just kidding. Kinda.)  I just get so frustrated with myself because as I said, I have no patience and then I yell and then craft time turns into military school. I need to learn to chill out a little.

~Remember when I told you Pat and I were following along with Beth Moore’s blog and memorizing scripture every two weeks? Well we did pretty good with our first scripture (Ephesians 4:1-3).  Our next scripture is Colossians 3:23-34.  A friend shared it at our couple’s Bible study last Sunday and then it turned out to be the scripture for our youth group which I was helping teach this week. So it was pretty cool that we decided that was going to be our verse.  It’s such a good reminder that in my marriage and as a mom – it’s all for Jesus, it’s Him I’m serving. If I’d remember that more I’d probably do less yelling, worry less about what I have to get cleaned and spend more time hugging and kissing and teaching my kids of Jesus love by example.

~Well Angel just said, “Mommy dance with me.”   And Caleb just stripped.  Those would be two signs that my computer time is up.

Have a great weekend!

 

4 thoughts on “Friday night

    sincerelyanna said:
    January 21, 2011 at 8:55 pm

    If you like tomatoes, spinach, and such then you should check out the recipe for Tortellini soup at Tasty Kitchen http://thepioneerwoman.com/tasty-kitchen-blog/2011/01/step-by-step-tortellini-soup/ Pretty tempting to eat hot crusty bread with it, but those 50 calorie breadsticks would work too. What are those. anyway?

      Missy said:
      January 22, 2011 at 8:55 am

      nfoyum! Will have to check it out. It was a baguette and then you cut it into bread sticks. I saw it on Ten Dollar Dinners on Food Network. I didn’t add anything to mine other than just a touch of evoo and a little garlic. And they were a little too crunchy for the kids but unfortunately Pat and I really enjoyed them! 🙂 http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/melissa-darabian/easy-breadsticks-recipe/index.html

        Missy said:
        January 22, 2011 at 5:23 pm

        Ok not sure what the “nfo” is before yum. I wonder if Caleb did a little typing before I could hit submit? 🙂

    learningpatience said:
    January 25, 2011 at 11:58 am

    I love your octopi! Have you seen the octopus hats we made a couple of years ago – I stole the idea from my oldest’s kindergarten class. They are hats with big curly legs – so fun!

    And that tortellini soup – I’m dying to make it! Just love that Anna!

Leave a Reply

