Stopping to smell the roses

Posted on

After my post on Monday I imposed some “computer rules” for myself, which basically means no more using the computer to facebook, blog or read blogs when I’m with the kids or hubby, with the exception of checking email once a day. I decided that I’ll blog when I’m at work (which is ok if it’s not busy) but I haven’t yet determined when or how often I’ll facebook.  There’s alot that brought me to this decision, and maybe someday I’ll share, but right now I just want to share with you a little bit about our week! 

We are potty training fools around here! Both Angel and Caleb are potty training and I hate to jinx myself but Angel is pretty much potty trained. She’s having very few accidents with the exception of right away in the morning when she wakes we’re still not making it to the bathroom in time.  Caleb is doing an amazing job too. He has a few accidents but he’s doing really good.  As I mentioned in a previous post he’s loving the chocolate chips. That’s what they get for going pee. If they poop they get sprinkles. And they both are sprinkle freaks so we’ve had lots of pee and poop parties.

I’m so thankful to be home with my babies (and not on my computer) to be able to experience the pure joy of babies learning how to go in the potty chair.  They get so stinkin excited.  And who knew it would be fun to look at the poop in the potty chair.  Angel will come running, “LET ME SEE! LET ME SEE!” And by golly we all look into the toilet and celebrate the poop.  And then have sprinkles.

Sometimes we wear shades too. Notice the chocolate stained lips.   They might have rotten teeth, but hey, they’re potty trained!

This is the first week of my “normal” schedule where I haven’t had to work a day shift. Usually we snuggle in bed for a bit but by 7 am they are wanting breakfast. After breakfast we get dressed and then I turn cartoons on again for 30 minutes while I have a quiet time.  Another thing that’s come of this whole computer ban thing is that I have decided that I will have a quiet time every day. If that means the kids watch cartoons, then that’s what it’s going to be. I need that time with the Lord. Badly. I found an old devotion that I used to use when I led a high school life group. Yes, it’s geared toward high schoolers but it’s been perfect for me. Simple, not too long and the Lord’s really using it to draw me closer to Him.  I do that for about 15 minutes and then I read out of a little devotional Power of a Praying Wife.

After cartoon time/devotions we have school time. This means Caleb destroys the playroom colors and Angel and I work on letters and numbers. We got through A, B and C this week and this morning we did a review and she remembered how to write all 3 letters. I was so proud of her! We also worked on 1, 2 and 3.  After I’m the teacher then it’s Angel’s turn to be the teacher. She usually “reads” to me and Caleb (if he’ll sit still) out of a little Bible devotional book she has and it is the cutest thing ever!  She’ll say things like, “Caleb you are being so naughty!” I wonder who she heard that from.

The rest of the morning we play and play and play some more. Read books. Dress up. Tea parties. Dance and sing songs. We’ve been having a blast.  Ok, let’s be real, there’s also fighting and pushing and hitting and yelling and an attempt to teach those two little monsters angels about Jesus and His love.

Caleb is man enough to wear a pink skirt. Every. Single. Day.

Angel playing dress up.

After lunch it’s nap/rest time. Angel’s pretty much done with naps but she does still need to have rest time. We’ve been snuggling and watching a movie during rest time and if that’s wrong I don’t want to be right.  I usually also use that time to get a little cleaning done, laundry, or today it was the first chance I had to jump in the shower.

During the afternoon we have more play time and we also try to have story time. They have to read by themselves for a bit and then they pick out 3 or 14 books and I read to them.  Before we know it, it’s 5:00 and time to start cooking supper. While I do that they get to watch a cartoon because I’m sorry I am not supermom whatsoever and I’m so thankful for Diego and Wonder Pets at 5:00 pm every day.

We’ve been able to get some projects done this week that have been on my to do list forever. I cleaned my bedroom. As in, you can see the tops of our dressers, clean.  We gave the bathrooms a good scrubbing and even cleaned the bath toys. 

Angel and I spent about 2 hours one day looking through her special adoption book and all her baby pictures.  We talked about how she was in D’s tummy and we talked about her foster family and it was the most special time ever.   She must have understand the whole baby thing because today she said, “Mama you have a baby in your tummy.”  Ok, either she didn’t understand or I’ve gained more weight than I care to admit.

We also got their baby books out which I’ve never even started but I’m hoping to start working on them next week.  We didn’t have a play date this week because it was so cold here, but I’m hoping next week to start scheduling something every week.  I’m looking forward to being a better friend and having intentional face to face time to connect. And also the time the kids will have with other kids will be good and hopefully they won’t hurt anyone.

The absolute best time of my week has been the extra time with my hubby. After the kids have gone to bed we’ve had amazing cuddle time on the couch. I’m sorry to say I cannot remember the last time that has happened.  It’s now the thing I most look forward to every day.  Sorry blog and facebook, you’ve been replaced and I’m so sorry for all the nights I’ve chosen you over my dear patient husband.

One day this week Angel was “reading” my work name badge. She said, “Mama it says, ‘Mama I love you.'”

It’s moments like those that will be forever etched in my memory.  I don’t think there’s anything inherently wrong with my computer time but it has taken me away from my First Love and my beloved husband and kids and so in that sense I think it’s good for me to step away.  Even a minute here, a minute there. It all adds up and for me, it’s time to slow down a bit and be alot more intentional about my time.  Each minute is a blessing and I don’t want to miss a single one.

4 thoughts on “Stopping to smell the roses

    learningpatience said:
    February 3, 2011 at 11:29 pm

    Hey there! I just wanted to pop in here and tell you that your comment at my place made me LOL – the part about actually being at home! (I’ve tried to reply to your comments a couple times lately, but they always bounce back. I’m thinking you must be logged into my blog w/ an old e-mail addy . . . that or you just don’t want to hear from me!)

    Blessings!

      Missy said:
      February 4, 2011 at 12:11 am

      Ya know, I bet it is still under my old email! Thanks – will have to get that updated!

    christa said:
    February 4, 2011 at 8:30 am

    We should play some time! I think we could really be friends IRL instead of online and in passing 😉 I appreciate your thoughts on this topic and I think it’s time to beef up my own “rules”…I was good for awhile but am back to being bad. I try to keep my laptop in the basement so it’s out of sight, out of mind. I’m also going to try the morning cartoons for quiet time idea. I get a little “self righteous” about tv time, or try to “save” it for other things, but I think using it so I can spend much needed time with God is ABSOLUTELY a great reason to plug ’em in! I am glad you are truly loving your time with your babies! It really does go so fast.

      Missy responded:
      February 6, 2011 at 5:56 pm

      I’m not gonna lie, when I was thinking about play dates you came to mind! Looking forward to it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

