Are you a doctor?

Posted on

Oh, the joys of parenthood.

Last night I made an amazing meal for supper (if I do say so myself). I grilled up some chicken and then made a sauce out of garlic, onion, black beans, diced tomatoes and a little chicken broth. I put mozzarella cheese on the chicken and it was served with the sauce over noodles.  It was yummy and I think pretty healthy.

Turns out that it was so good that Angel wanted to save a little for later.

In her nose.

I’ve heard stories of kids sticking things up their nose but we have yet to experience it. I was getting something in the kitchen and she asked me for a kleenex and then said something about something being stuck.  I ran over and asked her if she put something in her nose and of course she said no. I then gave her the mommy look and calmly said, “Angel did you put something in your nose?”

“Yes Mama, a bean.”

Oh my word.

I get the flashlight and sure enough there’s a bean in her nose.  Before she told me about the bean, she had tried to pick it out (sorry), so had pushed it way up.  I called Pat because he wasn’t home yet and thankfully he was on his way home. I tried sucking it out with one of those baby snot suckers but that didn’t work at all.  I thought about calling Ask a Nurse but since I’ve started working there I kinda knew that they would send us to the doctor. 

I got Angel’s shoes and coat on so we could leave as soon as Pat got home but as soon as he walked in the door he said, “I want to try something,” and begins running around the house collecting:

-the vacuum
-a straw
-duck tape

Really Patrick?

As he begins putting together his bean sucking contraption Angel says to him in all seriousness, “Are you a doctor?”

Dr Jekyll maybe.

Notice she’s beginning to think this whole thing is totally cool.

We were getting nowhere because as soon as the straw got close to her nose it would suck her little nostrils together. So then the smart one (me) suggests to gently insert the straw into her nose and then we’d turn the vacuum on.  Which after a couple tries worked and we sucked that little (which was really big) bean right out of her nose.

I’m wondering if there’s a market out there for Pat’s bean sucking contraption? No?   Well, anyway, everything turned out ok. We got the bean out. We avoided a $30 co-pay. I was reminded what a crazy resourceful man I’m married to.

Today at lunch Angel said to me, almost in a scolding tone, “Mama. We don’t put beans in our nose.”

I guess she’s the smart one in the family.

5 thoughts on “Are you a doctor?

    singspeakgloryseek said:
    February 8, 2011 at 7:42 pm

    This is hilarious!!!!! Your husband is amazing, who else would have thought of that???!!!!

    Stacy Carroll said:
    February 8, 2011 at 11:43 pm

    Thank you for relaying this story and information for future use!! I will try and remember this for future reference! Gave me quite a laugh to end the day! 🙂

    Stacy Carroll said:
    February 8, 2011 at 11:44 pm

    Thank you for relaying this story and information for future use!! Gave me quite a laugh to end the day! 🙂

      Stacy Carroll said:
      February 8, 2011 at 11:46 pm

      oops! not sure what happened; guess i’m getting tired:/

    Kristin S said:
    February 9, 2011 at 3:22 pm

    love.this.
    Nothing short of brilliant. 🙂

Leave a Reply

