Cookies and milk for breakfast is not unhealthy, it’s survival

Posted on

My husband took a flight south this morning. He’s going to Las Vegas for a work trade show and while he says he’s going to miss us and that he doesn’t really want to go, I know that deep down inside he CAN NOT WAIT to sleep in a bed by himself for 8 straight hours of sleep.  Oh ya, he might be looking forward to the food buffets too.

It’s been about an hour and 1/2 since we dropped him off at the airport. The drive home was fun as the kids were screaming and I just about got smashed by a snow plow.  Finally the kids have settled down (after I bribed them with cartoons).  And so for breakfast I had two cookies and a glass of milk.  Please don’t judge me. I realize this is very unhealthy, empty calories, but I’m pretty sure it prevented me from locking myself in the bathroom for the next 4 hours until my mom got here.  Ok, maybe the cookies were only a little help. If I were honest I’d say it was my devotion and scripture that will see me through.

Today’s prayer for Daddy (from Power of a Praying Wife devotion):

Lord, I pray that my husband will have a heart of thanksgiving. May he not be broken in spirit because of sorrow (Proverbs 15:13), but enjoy the continual feast of a merry heart (Proverbs 15:15). Give him a spirit of joy and keep him from growing into a grumpy old man. Help him to be anxious for nothing, but give thanks in all things so he can know the peace that passes all understanding. May he come to the point of saying, “I have learned in whatever state I am to be content” (Philippians 4:11). I say to my husband this day, “The Lord bless you and keep you; the Lord make is face shine upon you, and be gracious to you, the Lord lift up His countenance upon you, and give you peace” (Numbers 6:24-26).

How perfect is that!  God is awesome!

Yes! My mom is coming to help out the next 3 days since I have to work a couple of days.  And since the kids, especially Angel, are traumatized by daddy being gone for 4 days, Grandma Susie will help take their mind off it.

I still haven’t decided if I’m going to let the kids sleep with me.  We’ve been struggling with Angel waking up again in the middle of the night and our guest room is right across from their room. So I was thinking it would be nice if my mom could get a good nights sleep instead of being woke up by Angel’s screams at 2:00 am.  And yes, it would be nice for me to not have to sleep alone and the kids would love it.  I just don’t want to create bad habits and while they say they understand it’s just until daddy comes back home, well, you know how that’ll probably go.

Our agenda for today: more cartoons, Jillian (yes she’s back, and it’s a good thing considering my breakfast!), play time, lunch, Grandma gets here, nap time (hopefully) and then I go to work. Hopefully we’ll have minimal tantrums and crying for Daddy.  And hopefully the kids don’t cry too much for him either.

He just sent me a text: Boarding! Love you!

Let the adventure begin!

5 thoughts on “Cookies and milk for breakfast is not unhealthy, it’s survival

    Laenie said:
    February 22, 2011 at 10:26 am

    Ahh, Missy!

    We’ve been fortunate that Jon has been able to work from home for a bit these past few months.. but we got into a very nice routine for when he was traveling on a regular basis. Depending on the number of nights he was away we had: Movie & Popcorn Night (where we cuddled up on the couch in our quilts and watched movies till N’s eyes couldn’t stay open any longer), Cuddle In Bed With Mummy Night (which ended up me moving N to her bed when she fell asleep), PlayTime BathTime Night (sometimes I even let her wear her swimsuit), Formal Dinner Night (didn’t happen often, complete with table cloth, fancy silverware, nice clothes)

    The bulk of our Daddy-At-Work-routine was: Airport Day, Star-Sticker-on-Daddy’s-City Day (N has her own little map of the USA on her school wall), Talk-about-the-City/State-where-Daddy-is-Day (or Daddy-Gets-Home-Tomorrow Day), Airport Day. He was usually gone for 4 days (2 travel days, 2 work days), any longer than that and we usually went with him.

    During the day things we did to keep busy were:
    Library/Play-date
    Cooking (N made cakes, pies, pasta, cupcakes, whatever)
    Cutting/Pasting (she is very responsible with scissors *now* and I can kick back and read a book nearby, but at first it was very hands-on. Always included something to show Daddy when he got back)
    Favorite Bible Story Acting (and rehearsal for a Play to be put on for when Daddy got home)
    and there are more – let me know if you need ideas – sounds like you’ll do fine though!!

    For me, it was tough.. I got a lot of prayer time in, I was able to talk to Jon a few times a day, and there was always the sending him email photos from my phone. Nights were tough, but it was a nice reminder of how dating was often like when we were falling in love.. (happy sighs, or gagging noises are appropriate from your other blog readers, i don’t mind!)

    Oh, the joy of life.. Lather. Rinse. Repeat.

      Missy responded:
      February 22, 2011 at 4:38 pm

      This is awesome Laenie! I love the formal dress up idea! Angel would LOVE that! And we still haven’t planned our play date! We need to get on that! 🙂

    Jenny said:
    February 22, 2011 at 3:16 pm

    Aww, friend! I’ll be flying solo from tomorrow to Friday night, so I know what you’re going through with 2 little crazy heads! I try to do something special each day, but keep bed time the same, for my sanity. Praying for a smooth week for both of us!

      Missy responded:
      February 22, 2011 at 4:39 pm

      Ok, we totally should have packed up the car and headed south for a few days to visit you! Er, maybe not. 🙂 Yes! I’ll be praying for you too!

    sincerelyanna said:
    February 22, 2011 at 7:02 pm

    Now I get your comment on my post even more now! Hope the week goes by fast. Thank God for grandmas!! (who probably don’t mind waking up at 2 a.m. to see their daughter lovingly take care of her little girl)

Leave a Reply

