My boyfriend came to town

Posted on

(Disclaimer: the title of this post is completely inappropriate but I couldn’t help myself.)

Do you remember when I mentioned that I love Chris Tomlin? No? You blocked that post out of your memory?

Well in case I haven’t mentioned it, I love Chris Tomlin.  And Chris Tomlin came to town last week.

When our local radio station announced the concert last fall I was SO excited and planned a date with my mom, sister-in-law Leana and my good friend Liz.  We bought tickets early and were able to get great seats – 8th row!

The radio station gave away 1000 chocolate bars and five of them had golden tickets to meet Chris after the concert. Unfortunately none of us won.  But we sure did enjoy the chocolate.  My friend Liz didn’t want hers and so she gave it to me. I won’t tell you if I ate it though. That doesn’t really seem relevant to this post.

What does relevancy have to do with anything I write about?

Don’t answer that.

Here’s the four of us:

And here’s my boyfriend, my best bud, a complete stranger who doesn’t know or care that I exist Chris Tomlin…

So this post was supposed to be all spiritual and I wanted to share how Chris Tomlin and Louie Giglio gave an amazing concert and message and how God spoke SO loudly to my heart and I was SO encouraged. But I guess the reference to the ice cream singing post and the whole boyfriend thing kinda knocked the spirituality right out of it.

But the concert was amazing.  And God did speak loudly through Chris’s music and Louie’s message. I sang loud and I probably sang off-key and I cried and lifted my hands as high I could and I jumped and danced attempted to jump and dance and and I was so encouraged.

My chains are gone.

I think I forget.  I forget that my job as a mom is not to catch my kids doing stuff wrong and worry constantly about making sure they are doing things right and keep a clean house and get the laundry done. Sure that’s part of it. But my job as a mom is to help my kids fall in love with Jesus. To tell them about this Jesus that rescued me from a pit of despair. To remind them of our amazing Heavenly Father who loves us with an everlasting love and who will never leave them or forsake them.

My chains are gone.

The thoughts in my head that I’m a failure and that I suck at being a mom and wife and human being in general – they are lies.

My chains are gone.

I was so refreshed and renewed. There were times that I felt like it was just me and Jesus and as tears streamed down my face He breathed His strength and hope and peace into me.  Through Him I don’t have to face each day with frustration and despair and overwhelmtion. Sure, days are hard. And I fail a hundred times a day. And my kids drive me bonkers most days. But I am SO blessed. Even without my husband and kids and family and amazing life – I am BLESSED beyond measure because the Creator of the universe LOVES ME.

During the concert I thought back to September, 2003 and remembered that I knelt to the ground, sobbed uncontrollably and recommitted my life to Jesus. This Jesus, who unconditionally loves me and loved me and brought healing and hope to my life, He’s still there with me every single day.  How do I forget? How can I possibly let a day or hour or minute go by and not think about the great, amazing love of Jesus?

I don’t know how or why I forget.  But thankfully Jesus is faithful and true and loves me still the same.

My chains are gone.

And that my friends, makes my heart want to sing!

p.s. This is my new favorite song. And my mom totally went up to the mosh pit with all the other “crazies” during the encore performance of this song.

5 thoughts on “My boyfriend came to town

    Jenny said:
    February 23, 2011 at 7:55 am

    This. Is. A. Breath. Of. Fresh. Air.

    Because I’ve felt like a failure as a mom this week.

    christa said:
    February 23, 2011 at 8:05 am

    Thank you for writing, Missy. I felt the same way. I took Madelyn (and we could see you, by the way! I waved madly but you didn’t see us) and it was the most incredible experience, to hold my 50 pound daughter on my hip the whole concert 😉 and worship together. By the end, she even had her hands raised. She was just hanging on me, petting my hair and face, and I realized too, what my most important job is, and it isn’t educating them, or feeding them perfectly or having a clean/organized house. Still gonna do all of those things, but try harder every day to prioritize sharing my faith and growing in it together. What an awesome, awesome event. I think Madelyn has a crush on him too 😉

      Missy responded:
      February 23, 2011 at 8:17 am

      So awesome! What an amazing experience to have with your precious Maddie!

    Jenny said:
    February 23, 2011 at 8:20 am

    And also…this post got me singing “my boyfriend’s back”…and now Josh is singing it. Um… 🙂

      Missy responded:
      February 23, 2011 at 9:31 am

      HAHA!!!

Leave a Reply

