We sure are having fun making our family

Posted on Updated on

Every Friday Angel has preschool in the morning and during that time Caleb and I usually get groceries or go to the library or walk around Target eating popcorn.  Today we went to Walmart and HyVee and by the time we got back to the church to pick up Angel, Caleb was sound asleep.

As we left the church Angel asked why Caleb was so tired. And then she said, “Oh that’s my boy.  Mama, that’s my baby brother.”

I said, “Yes he sure is.” And she said, “Mama, we sure are having fun making our family.”

I had to laugh out loud because I had no idea what that meant but at least it seems that we’re all enjoying ourselves!

Speaking of my babies, here are two more pictures that we took the other day:

The poor things were so traumatized by the end of our photo shoot. I realize now the reason people get professional pictures taken is 1. you actually get good pictures and 2. the children behave better for complete strangers than they do for mom and dad.  So despite their precious smiles they were pretty ticked off at mommy for making them say cheese a hundred times and sit this way and put your hands that way and look at daddy and say cheese!

I know you’re going to think I’m completely off my rocker but Angel has started to read lately. And at least one of the times I had witnesses. We were in the cities hanging out with Princess and Prankster and Prankster had written a note to Princess on a napkin that said “I love you!”  Angel wanted to look at it and I told her to tell Princess and Prankster what the letters were because we’ve been practicing alot and she can read almost all her letters.  So she said, “I”, pause and then “love you.” We all looked at each other in disbelief and Angel just smiled.  When we asked how she knew what it said she just said, “I just know.”

Then the other day at the store we were looking at cake mixes (not to buy any, mind you, just to look for fun! Ha!) and she looked at a box of Angel Food Cake Mix and said, “Angel food.”  I suppose that one’s a little easier since she knows her name.   She’s always been able to memorize words when we say them. Like she knows all the stores – Target, Menards, Walmart – because we say that’s where we’re going and she sees the signs. I’m sure most kids do that but this was the first time she’s done more than that. It’s baffling to us.

Edited to add: Both my husband and a good friend would like to confirm that I am off my rocker and that Angel isn’t actually reading reading. Whatever.

Today, before he fell asleep, Caleb was having a little episode because he wanted a piece of gum or something and I wouldn’t let him have whatever he wanted.  Lately when he doesn’t get his way he has this little tantrum but then he screams at the top of his lungs like he’s really angry (which I’m sure he is).   Today I had to laugh out loud because how often do I wish I could just scream at the top of my lungs and get out all my frustration.  I think the next time I get angry I might try that and hope Patrick doesn’t have me committed.

I’m in love with feta cheese and spinach. The other day I told you about my new favorite salad. Last night we made homemade pizzas. The kids made 1/2 their way – cheese, pepperoni, black olives, tomatoes and more cheese – and we made 1/2 our way – cheese, spicy sausage, spinach, feta cheese and tomatoes. It was so good. In fact Pat said he would order it at a restaurant it was so good.  Then today at the store I bought some Asiago cheese bread and for lunch I made a little sandwich with a slice of that bread, turkey, spinach and feta cheese. I put it under the broiler for a few minutes and it was so yummy!

In addition to our homemade pizza, we made cupcakes last night.  We being Pat and the kids. They made Peanut Butter Chocolate Brownie cupcakes and then he whipped up his own peanut butter cream cheese frosting.  The cupcakes turned out so amazing and I probably could have eaten four of them. Thankfully Pat took them to work today, otherwise I probably would have.

Keep Princess and Prankster in your prayers this week as they are in Florida sharing their faith! 

Keep my brother Jim and sister-in-law Leana in your prayers as they got a casting call for the Amazing Race! (ok, that’s a lame prayer request.) But how awesome would that be if they got on! My brother Tracy and I applied for the Amazing Race probably 8 years ago. Our video tape was so lame, it was us pretending to rob our local grocery store. Ya know, because we don’t have any money so that’s why they should put us on the show. I’m surprised they didn’t report us or something.

Speaking of amazing, my husband went running last night.  I have to be honest and say that since this post I haven’t ran (but I’ve done Jillian twice and religiously watch the Biggest Loser every week). I blame it on the cold weather.  And I don’t have time because I’m taking care of the kids.  And maybe I’m eating cupcakes.   I guess that’s what happens when you’re having so much fun making a family!

3 thoughts on “We sure are having fun making our family

    Jenny said:
    March 11, 2011 at 6:46 pm

    I would LOVE to see them on AR, we are huge AR fans! How fun would that be! What a fun little family update! And Angel is sight reading – recognizing the actual words, but not reading-reading them, if that makes sense. Josh isn’t there yet, so good for her! It’s a good beginning step! Yeah – I’ve taken pics of my kids before. Yikes, it’s enough to make this good Nazarene girl want a stiff drink! 🙂

    Love you!

      Missy responded:
      March 11, 2011 at 8:47 pm

      That’s exactly what Pat told me tonight – about Angel sight reading. I said, “NO, she can read!” 😉 So glad you’re on the road to recovery! (your ankle, not drinking :))

    Erika said:
    March 11, 2011 at 10:53 pm

    This was the grandest thing I have ever read (well, not EVER, but it sure was top notch!). I love all your random snippets of life – makes me wish you were saying them to me at my kitchen table and we were drinking coffee and eating one of those cupcakes – then I could tell you how much I love your stories and you could actually hear me. ya’ know?
    Angel is reading. She’s a genius. Yeah, yeah, it’s mostly by sight – but that IS READING! She is recalling information that she knows – remembering to put two and two together (the letters and the order they are in and remembering what that word was called when you said it). That is a HUGE step toward actually reading 🙂 Genius, I tell you.
    And the Amazing Race news is SO COOL!!! My favorite reality show. Ahhhh!! Keep us updated!
    Love you.

Leave a Reply

