Day: March 16, 2011

Is it bad that my 3 year old is smarter than me?

Posted on

For snack time on Tuesday we had bananas. Well Angel and Caleb had bananas. Well actually Angel had a banana. Caleb asked for one but then decided he’d rather smash it.

Anyway I handed the banana to Angel and she held it up to me and said,

“Mama, what shape is this?”

I was a little stumped and so I said “banana shape.”

I know, I know. Not the sharpest tool in the shed.

Angel sighed and said,

“Mom. It’s a crescent.”

Oh yeah.

I think we’ve been watching a little too much of Ramona and Beezus lately. Both kids (and their mom) love this movie.

Yesterday Angel yelled at Caleb,

“YOU ARE NEVER GOING TO CHANGE!” just like Beezus says to Ramona.

I’m at a complete loss as to how to teach/discipline/guide my 2 year old.  I’m tempted to believe that he’s deaf but I know that he’s not. But I would say 30% of the time he completely ignores me. I thought they weren’t suppose to do that until they were teenagers.

Another 30% of the time we know he hears us tell him something but he just doesn’t care and continues to ask and ask and ask or cry and cry and cry. Thankfully I’m more strong-willed than he is (although not all the time). I was SO excited the other day when we finally had something close to success.

We made turkey and cheese sandwiches for lunch but for some reason Caleb is just not eating anything lately. We also had chips and of course he was all about eating those. I told him he couldn’t have any until he ate some of his turkey (because he had dissected the sandwich – why do I waste the bread?). He had a fit for a few minutes but finally calmed down and ate some turkey. I couldn’t believe it.  I know that seems pretty minor but it was huge for me because he usually fights and fights and fights us.   

I heard a radio broadcast once encouraging parents of 2 and 3 year olds to hold fast and how those two years are the hardest and maybe the most impactful to a child’s life.  I can see that already in Angel, her being 3 1/2 and she’s turning more into a little girl and not a toddler anymore.  So I know the time will come for Caleb, I just hope and pray he can learn to be obedient and listen and not be so stinking stubborn.  But I guess that’s what makes him Caleb.

We are having a St Patty’s Day Play Date party tomorrow! Angel and Caleb are excited and I am too.  Especially because when we have people over it requires that I clean my house.  My house is happy!  We made treats today – confetti Angel Food cake cupcakes with green icing and green sprinkles.

(Warning to those coming to the party: your child might get a sugar high.)

We’ll also have green kool-aid and I’ll probably stop at the store after work and pick up some green grapes or something a little bit healthy.   Most of the little ones that come don’t have a clue about St Patrick’s Day but it’ll still be fun. I may even try to convince my friends to let me take some pictures so I can blog about our play date!

(If you didn’t get the invite on fb and you live in my area you are invited! Email me for time and directions.)

Caleb continues to talk more and more and it’s so fun. He can say alot of single words but hasn’t really started putting 2 or more words together yet, at least not that we can really understand. (Except “hot dog” or french fry”.)  This morning he said, “What’s that?” as clear as day. Pat and I looked at each other and I asked him who that was because it was so clear we thought it was Angel.  And then today when I dropped them off at Grandma Barb’s he said, “Don’t go.”  He also says Angel’s name all the time. He can say her entire name but he usually just says, “Gel.” It’s so cute.

Lately Angel has been saying, “Yes, Mother” or “Yes, Father” every time we tell her to do something.   I don’t even know what else to say about it. We appreciate the respect and all but it’s just weird and usually we chuckle. Then Angel will look at us with a gleam in her eye and smile.  Little stinker.

Have you been wondering if I’m still on a feta cheese and spinach kick?  I thought so. Well yes, yes I am. This is what I had for supper tonight.

(It kinda looks like its sticking it’s tongue out at me. If it had a tongue.)

Turkey, spinach and feta cheese on cheddar jalapeno bread.  Our local grocery store sells these mini loaves and I can get at least 3 sandwiches out of them.  I’ve been heating it up under the broiler but tonight at work I just had a microwave but it still turned out pretty tasty!

Do you ever see something that just makes your day?  Today I was walking up the stairs and I looked out the front door to see this…

(If you can’t see, it’s Angel’s bird wind chime “eating” Caleb’s dragonfly wind chime.)

I thought it was kinda funny that everyone has a bad day every once in awhile.

(I guess we’ve been playing monsters and dinosaur a little too much lately for me to automatically think that the bird was eating the dragonfly!)

Caleb is a huge hugger and cuddler. But he rarely lets me rock him anymore. Sometimes at bedtime he’ll say “rock” but then it’s only for about 32 seconds. Today he was really crabby and wanted his blanket. I picked him up in a cradle hold and we sat down on the couch. I told him I’d get him his blanket if he told me he loved me.

He said, “NNNOOOOO!”

Then I’d tickle him and kiss his cheeks and neck and he’d laugh and laugh and laugh.  Then we’d repeat it. Finally after about 5 minutes I said to him that I’d go get him his blanket. He said, “NO!” I guess he was enjoying our rocking time as much as I was!

Enjoy the rest of your week! I don’t work Thursday or Friday and I’m going to completely smother my kiddos with time and hugs and kisses.  Whether they like it or not!