Dora Soup

Posted on Updated on

On Sunday I made Dora Soup.

The name Dora Soup has nothing to do with the soup itself. I asked Angel what we should name our soup and she said, “Dora Soup.”  Well, ok then.

I used the Italian Sausage Soup recipe from Owlhaven’s Family Feasts book as a starting point. But then I didn’t have all the ingredients so kinda winged it.

Dora Soup (about 6 servings):
4-5 carrots, peeled and chopped into bite size pieces
1/2 onion, chopped
1 package breakfast sausage links, cut up into bite size pieces
1/2 package keilbosa, cut up into bite size pieces
8 cups chicken broth
1 can garbonzo beans (chick peas), drained and rinsed
1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
1 can diced tomatoes
kale and spinach, roughly chopped (maybe 1-2 cups of each?)

Cook the breakfast sausage links until browned and cooked through. Drain most of the grease and then add the keilbosa, carrots, onion, salt, pepper and garlic salt. (Real garlic would be ideal but I was feeling lazy.)  Cook for about 3-5 minutes.

Add the chicken broth, beans, tomatoes, kale and spinach. I didn’t really measure the kale and spinach but I do wish I would have added a little more since it cooks down so much.

(Why kale? I’ve never cooked with it before but it’s in my favorite soup that Olive Garden makes (zuppa tuscana) and it looked fabulously good at the store the other day.)

Let everything cook together about 10-15 minutes.  This recipe normally calls for potatoes (and if you added potatoes you’d cook for 20 minutes til they were done) but unfortunately when I went to start peeling and chopping my potatoes were all bad. That’s why I added the breakfast sausage, black beans and tomatoes, to add a little something else to it.  Season with more salt and pepper as needed.  Serve with bread.

It turned out really good. I love this soup because there are so many good veggies in it. The kids ate everything, even the spinach and kale. That was surprising. And they love eating (and saying) garbonzo beans!

Leave a Reply

