There’s another red head in the family

Posted on

(I apologize for the awfulness of some of these pictures…I’ll blame it on my phone.)

We are excited to announce a new addition to our family! And that we have another red head!

It’s not Gracie…

Or Cobo (my parent’s dog)…

Meet Peanut…

My sister’s year old miniature dachshund. Peanut and Angel are inseparable. I don’t know that Peanut is always so excited about Angel carrying her and holding her 24/7 whenever we come to visit. But they make a pretty cute pair.  Angel calls her Baby Peanut but she also walks around saying, “Baby baby,” in an Elvis voice. She also talks about Peanut being “just her size.”

This weekend my sister said that she thought Peanut should become Angel’s dog.  We were blown away by my sister’s loving gift because we know she loves Peanut so much. But she loves Angel more and loves to see her so happy.  And being the ridiculously crazy loving parents that we are, we said sure why not.

So Peanut came home with us and is getting settled into a new routine with her new family. And trying like crazy to survive the constant attention, touching and holding from a certain 2 and 3 year old.

(No Peanut’s were harmed in the taking of this picture. This was on our 2 block drive back to my parent’s house.)

This was us on our way home. Someone might be just a little bit happy. My sister told Angel on Easter Sunday that she was going to get to take Peanut home. From then on Angel would say that she was going to be Angel’s mama. So sweet.

Peanut’s first night home was last night and she was pretty traumatized. And so was this mama. I’m not sure what we were thinking. Am I mentally capable of having another toddler in our family who poops all over? I think I told the kids 394 times tonight to quit touching and picking up the poor dog. Thankfully my sister is more than willing to take Peanut back if it doesn’t work out for me. We had to make Peanut feel at home though so she got a new bling collar, a new blankie (one of Angel’s old blankets), a new toy and she even got a bath tonight.

Cuddling after baths…

Peanut’s new bling collar, toy and blankie…

So we shall see how this new adventure turns out. Peanut really is a sweet girl so I’m hoping we can get her potty trained and help her to not be so stressed about the two toddlers and the two other big dogs.  Last night she sad cuddled in her blanket on the couch while I did sit ups watching The Biggest Loser. And she didn’t even laugh at me.

This morning she ate all her breakfast and then went outside with the big dogs and did her business. I think she might be a keeper!

4 thoughts on “There’s another red head in the family

    hollysax said:
    April 27, 2011 at 1:27 pm

    oh boy… do allie and ed play nice?

      Missy responded:
      April 27, 2011 at 6:12 pm

      They do actually, although Allie is pretty jealous. She sat in the corner last night and pouted. 🙂 But today they were playing a little.

    Leana Hellman said:
    April 28, 2011 at 6:13 pm

    These pics made me laugh! So funny!

    learningpatience said:
    May 2, 2011 at 6:57 am

    Love those pics of Angel so excited over her new love!

Leave a Reply

