40 years of awesome

Posted on Updated on

Edited to add: I mentioned below that we all turned into beautiful young ladies. Obviously we didn’t all turn into young ladies. Just me and my sister. Wanted to make sure that was clear.

Today is my sister Danelle’s (Nellie) birthday!

I’m not going to share with you how old she is. I don’t want her to get mad at me. I’m also not going to post any embarrassing pictures of her from the past 40 years.  But I am going to share some pretty awesome pictures.

Here she is as a baby with our mom. Isn’t she a cutie?

Before long she had a little sister and two little brothers to bother her day and night! But she was (and is) an awesome big sister, making us macaroni and cheese anytime we wanted and teaching us how to make grilled cheese sandwiches (right Sister!).

Christmas 1978, our brother Jim had just come home from the hospital.

In a river in Colorado.  We took this exact picture 20 years later as adults. I couldn’t find it though.

And then we all grew up and turned into beautiful young ladies.  Well young ladies anyway. I think this was my sister’s confirmation which would have been 1986 or 1987. We’re with our Uncle Jack.

Here ya go. I have no words actually. Well maybe a few.

Holy cow, those are big glasses.

Angel was looking at these with me and she said, “Nellie’s hair is sticking up.”

And a few years later. Guess the big glasses were still in style. Kinda funny how my brother has the longest hair of the bunch.

There we go, that’s a little better. This was my sophomore year of college so 1993. Doesn’t my sister look exactly like my mom in the first two pictures?

Fast forward a few years. Lots of memories. Good times, bad times, fun times, hard times. Lots of awesome memories.

Now she’s “Sister” to me (yes, that’s pretty much what I call her all the time) and “Aunt Nellie” to Angel and Caleb.  And she’s the best sister and best aunt we could ever hope for!

We love you Aunt Nellie! We hope you have an awesome birthday!

2 thoughts on “40 years of awesome

    Missy responded:
    July 10, 2011 at 7:37 am

    Happy birthday sister! 🙂

    I’ll have to do a post about it, but doesn’t Caleb look exactly like Jim when he was little?

    singspeakgloryseek said:
    July 10, 2011 at 12:56 pm

    I posted the picture of you guys at the river in colorado, 20 years later, on your facebook.

Leave a Reply

