A setback. Almost.

Posted on

Last week’s training started out pretty good.

Monday, July 11th: ran 2.5 miles
Tuesday, July 12th: ran 3.6 miles
Wednesday, July 13th: rest

Then we went on vacation.  We traveled up to the Cities with my parents and sister Thursday morning and stayed until Sunday. That’s three big training days I needed to get in.

Thankfully our hotel had an exercise room and so at about 9:00 pm on Thursday night Pat and I went down and ran 3.5 miles.  Unfortunately it was on a treadmill and that turned out to be my first setback, but I’ll get to that in a bit.

Friday was cross-training day. I was supposed to do 40 minutes and I was excited to try the elliptical in the exercise room.  For lunch we went to Joe’s Crab Shack. Yum. And then we spent the afternoon at the Minnesota Children’s Museum.  On the way back from the hotel we stopped to pick up Princess and Pat got a smoothie at Caribou Coffee. I had a few sips and by the time I got to the hotel I was sicker than a dog.

A dog that’s nauseous, has bad stomach cramps and spends alot of time in the bathroom.

I had no idea what it was because no one else was feeling sick. While Pat, Princess and the kids went swimming, I took a shower and laid on the couch wanting to die and never did feel better that night. So much for cross-training.

Saturday morning I woke up feeling a little better but not 100%. I was supposed to run 5 miles. It was the hardest thing ever to get dressed and lace up my shoes but surprisingly I did and I ended up running all 5 miles. I didn’t really feel myself until Sunday and so I’m not sure what that was all about.

On the way out-of-town on Sunday we stopped at a sporting store and bought new shoes. The shoes I had were from Shopko and while they weren’t horrible (I think they are Asics), they weren’t the best either. I found some that felt amazing and weren’t too expensive so I was so excited to run Monday morning.  Let’s just say that didn’t go so well. I know I need to break them in but it was just another thing to make me feel discouraged about this crazy plan to run a half marathon. But I’ll have to share more about that in next week’s update.

So here’s a review of how the week went:

Monday: 2.6
Tuesday: 3.6
Wednesday: rest
Thursday: 3.5
Friday: nothing
Saturday: 5
Sunday: rest

As far as running on the treadmill, well I think that wasn’t the best idea because when I ran on Monday, in addition to my new shoes, it just felt weird.  I LOVE running on a treadmill, but I can’t make that mistake again.

Eating update:

Well, let’s see. We were on vacation. Need I say more?

Actually we did pretty good. Princess made us a fabulous meal on Thursday night. Spinach salad and a pasta dish. Very good and healthy. Friday we ate at Joe’s Crab Shack and then ordered pizza Friday night.  It wasn’t as bad as it sounds. I had crab legs at the Shack (with no butter) and didn’t eat pizza because I was sick.

Saturday we ate at Kokomo’s in the Mall of America. I shared a pasta dish with the kiddos and didn’t eat much because I was still not feeling 100%. It was really good though, had spirally pasta, brocoli, peppers and carrots.  For supper we ordered in chinese and by then I was feeling better so might have eaten a few too many helpings of sesame chicken. And beef and broccoli. And cream cheese won tons. But I did run 5 miles so I suppose that was ok.

And Sunday we were still full from our gorging on Friday and Saturday so we all just shared two appetizers from Apple Bee’s for lunch and for supper had a fresco taco from Taco Bell.

Vacation was awesome. But it’s so good to be home. Get back on a regular running schedule. On my regular running route. And start eating our regular same old meals at home.

8 weeks and counting!

Leave a Reply

