Hoping this old body can hold out for three more weeks

Posted on

Despite the amount of pain I’m in, it was a good week.

Monday, August 15th: 3 miles, easy with Patrick
Tuesday, August 16th: 4.5 miles, pushing kids in stroller
Wednesday, August 17th: rest
Thursday, August 18th: 5 miles, pushing kids in stroller
Friday, August 19th: walked 30 minutes
Saturday, August 20th: 9 miles with Patrick (he did 6.5), painful, pushing stroller for 2-3 miles
Sunday, August 21st: rest

I think I’m turning into a night person because I’ve really struggled lately with getting up in the morning to run. In the evenings it doesn’t always work to run because some nights I work and some nights Pat needs to run.  So this week I tried running with the kids in the stroller.

While both workouts were really tough, it wasn’t too bad. And I realized on my run on Thursday that I was actually keeping my same pace as without the stroller. I was so surprised. I thought for sure I was running alot slower. The biggest challenge is keeping the kids happy for 1-1.5 hours.

I had to work day shift this weekend and so by 4:00 pm on Saturday I was dreading having to run nine miles. But thankfully I didn’t let that stop me and Pat also decided to try to get in a long run of six miles. He’s still thinking of doing the half-marathon and he’s been doing a great job. I just hope he’s not pushing himself too hard that he gets hurt. But he’s gotten to the point where he can at least run/walk it.

We drove down to the bike trails and took turns pushing the stroller. There’s about a 3.5-4 mile stretch that’s open but after that the trail has been closed this summer for construction. But for some reason I thought they had opened it. Nope. So we went out and back, 6.5 miles, and then I went back a mile and came back again. I realize that’s only 8.5 miles. But there was the beginning part before our first mile marker, that was probably .25 mile and then another .25 off trail when we had to go find the bathrooms.  So it maybe wasn’t quite nine miles but close.

Turns out this weekend was supposed to be a 10K race anyway so I figure anything over six is extra!

I forgot to take my Tylenol before we ran and so by mile seven I was in alot of pain. I kept running but when I turned back to finish that last mile and 1/2, I had to alternate walking and running. My entire right side hurt, starting at my knee going down into my calf and into my ankle and foot. I’m pretty sure it’s nothing injured, just the wear and tear of pounding this big old body for eight miles.

Even though I hate biking, I think this week I need to do alot of it to give myself a rest.  I think part of the issue is my shoes and I was afraid it was too late to break in a new pair before the race.  But my brother, who is a “real” runner and college coach thinks I should have enough time to break in a new pair. Especially if I can find a pair with a little better support. I wasn’t ever able to wear the new pair I bought a few weeks ago as I came to the conclusion that they are too small. So that’s a real bummer.  Anyone need an almost brand new pair of tennis shoes? I’ll sell them to you cheap! (Size 9.5 :))

I can’t believe we’re on the home stretch of this journey!  I told Pat the other night that it’ll be nice when I won’t have to run. But on the other hand it’s kinda nice that I do have to run, so I can stay on track (and not gain weight), considering that I eat enough for two large rhinos.

By the way, we are getting closer to having to make the decision. Probably the most important decision of this entire half-marathon training journey. A decision I’ve put off until now. But time is running out.

What in the world am I going to wear on race day?

2 thoughts on “Hoping this old body can hold out for three more weeks

    Kristin said:
    August 21, 2011 at 9:31 pm

    Great job! I am really impressed with your dedication and hard work! I couldn’t do it. 2 suggestions (not that I’m a runner or anything…) 1. Try aleve or ibuprofen rather than tylenol. They have anti-inflammatory properties as well as the pain relieving aspect that might be helpful for you. 2. shoes: Adidas Kayanos come highly recommended by David, my sisters, brother-in-law, and me. We all have them and love them. They are a little spendier but way worth it.

    Just my 2 cents. 🙂 Will you be there on Saturday? Hope you can make it!

      Missy responded:
      August 21, 2011 at 9:38 pm

      Thanks for the tip, I will do that. I was kinda thinking that but I think we’re out of everything except T so just went with that. 🙂 And I’m pretty sure the pair I want to get are Kayanos. They are on sale at Shopko! No, I guess they’re Kanbarras. Uh oh, now I have a big decision to make! I think we’ll be there on Saturday. Probably just gonna do the walk (is there a 5K this year?). I have to do 9 or 10 miles that day and am going to try to get it in before the heart walk. It’s Angel’s forever family day and we can’t think of a better way to spend our time than walking for Lael!

Leave a Reply

