The day the light came back

Posted on

It was eight years ago today that the light came back on.

The light of the love of Jesus first came into my life in 1994 as a sophomore in college. I recognized my need for a Savior and I was born again.  I got married, had great friends, a new church family and was loving life. Until we tried to start a family. The months and years went by. 

And then I fell.

I was lied to. I was deceived. I believed a lie and I believed the Deceiver. A follower of Jesus I was. But I walked away.

I walked away from everyone. Husband. Child. Family. Friends. Jesus.

At night the pain was so real. The nightmares would come. The guilt. Embarrassment. Sorrow.  But the morning would come and I’d continue living my life.  In a fake hope. Without the Light of Jesus.

Many prayed. A few friends hung on. Despite me. They called. And kept calling. They invited. And kept inviting.  One day I said yes.  Yes I would come listen to your daughter sing at Lifelight Music Festival.  Even though I wasn’t “one of them”. I wasn’t a follower of Jesus anymore. I was nothing. I was lost. I was hopeless.

I encountered friends at Lifelight that year. Friends who loved unconditionally. Friends who were Jesus to me. 

One in particular was Brooke. Just a teenager. But she loved Jesus and saw my need. She saw my pain. As tears streamed down my face. As the music played and the words were sung she wrapped her arms around me.

“Missy, just let it go.”

And I did. I cried. I confessed. I wept. I knelt.

I was reborn again.

I don’t understand the theology of it. But I experienced it and so I know it’s true. Jesus became real to me again and He was there. The light came back on.  He rescued me from the pit. The scales came off my eyes. My heart was restored. Jesus loved. He loves. He never stopped.

And then He did so much more. He restored my new family. He brought beauty from ashes. He brought healing.

I’ll never forget this day.  I’ll never forget the friends who didn’t quit trying.  The many friends and family who didn’t stop praying. I’ll forever be thankful to my Savior who always loves, always forgives and always brings hope.

Are you living in a fake hope today? Do you need restoration and healing? Jesus alone is the answer. He loves you no matter where you’ve been or what you’ve done.

Click on the sidebar “Not Your Ordinary Love Story” to read more.

One thought on “The day the light came back

    my life is Christ's said:
    September 5, 2011 at 1:31 pm

    I say it’s great theology. It’s the Prodigal son. And it’s the Father lavishing His love and blessings on you now.

Leave a Reply

