If you can’t be an athlete, be an athletic supporter

Posted on

Best movie line ever:

If you can’t be an athlete, be an athletic supporter.

Although I can’t remember if it’s from Grease or Grease 2. Which is a little pathetic because during the summer of 1984 I watched Grease 2 no less than 84 times with my best friend Stephanie. So you think I would remember.

Well anyway, the final countdown has begun for the Half Marathon.  And so this is my final plea to you to come and cheer us on!

Here’s the link to all the details. The half starts at 7:00 am and keep in mind I’ll probably run an 11 minute very slow so it’ll take me at least an hour just to get to mile six.

(If you want to see the world’s best water station hang out around mile 5 of the half marathon. My brother and his cross-country/track team are in charge of that water station every year and they are rock stars.)

I also wanted to share a little advice for those who are able to come out.

Please.  Cheer.  For everyone.

I know it seems weird to cheer for people you don’t know, but please trust me when I say that it is very discouraging to run past someone and that someone is just standing there looking at you.  You don’t have to go all crazy (even though it’s even better if you do go all crazy).

A few tried and true words of encouragement:

Great job!
Looking good!
You can do it!
Keep going!
Woo hoo!
You’re awesome!
Almost done! (if you’re towards the end of course)

Or you can always just clap and smile.

Don’t feel dumb or be embarrassed. The runners are the ones with sweat, blood, tears, snot and who knows what else dripping down their tired sore bodies. They don’t really care what you say, just that you say something to encourage them to keep going.

I’ve never forget when I ran a 5K and probably 1/2 of the spectators didn’t cheer. It was so discouraging. And alot of them were workers and volunteers and they still didn’t cheer.

So please.  Cheer!  Be the best athletic supporter you can be! This athlete runner half marathon participant will thank you forever!

Come back tomorrow. I have a very special guest blogger, you don’t want to miss it!

One thought on “If you can’t be an athlete, be an athletic supporter

    sincerelyanna said:
    September 6, 2011 at 10:24 pm

    Such a good movie line! Wow, I missed reading before that you’re running a half marathon. What? That’s awesome! Go Missy Go!

Leave a Reply

