When did I get here?

Posted on

The other night at the supper table, Angel asked about her adoption. This is the first time she’s initiated conversation about it.  (I wrote it down right afterwards so I would remember it word for word.)

Angel: Mom, when did I get here again?

Me: What do you mean?

Angel: (exasperated sigh) I MEAN, when did I get here in my family.

Me: Well you were born on October 24th.

Angel: In D’s tummy, right?  (She knows her birth mom’s name, we just use D on the blog.)

Me: Yep, you were in D’s tummy.  And then you went to Rhea’s house for a little bit.  And then on December 21st me and Daddy came and got you!  Just in time for Christmas! 

Angel: And then I became your first children!

I know we’ll have some tough conversations in the years to come. Thankful that this first one was filled with joy and laughter!

One thought on “When did I get here?

    Jenny said:
    September 13, 2011 at 9:08 pm

    Yes! And the more you say it, the easier it becomes…until the hard questions! Starting off so positive is wonderful!

Leave a Reply

