If you do anything today, please read this

Posted on

A little background…

We are in the middle of a radical change in our family.  We’re on a mission. A gazelle-like challenge.

Or so I thought.

If you’ve been here before you know that we’re attempting to get out of the debt hole we created for ourselves. We’ve slowly been making progress.  Paying off that debt. Trying to cut back. But not really. Not being 100% committed to the budget.

Then last week a friend gave me Dave Ramsey’s book Total Money Makeover.  And the next day my dad lost his job.

Needless to say we took Dave’s advice and admonition to heart. And decided that it was time for a change. Real change. Not this fake change we’ve been claiming to attempt the past two years or so.

So I’ve been preparing for a major garage sale coming up next weekend. We are purging like crazy. Things, some brand new, that I know we don’t need and we won’t even get 1/25 of the price we paid for it, are going in the sale. It’s been a battle and at times it’s made me sad. We might need that some day, ya know?

Now I have to come clean about something. The title of this post is not referring to my post.  Yes, I’m going to make you read my blog post and then I’m going to ask you to go read another one.

Because this blog post, this is the one you really need to read.

I read it as tears streamed down my face. Ashamed.

Earlier today I was SERIOUSLY SAD ABOUT HAVING TO SELL A PAIR OF SHOES.

(I’m yelling at myself, not you.)

Big sigh.

I’m just so sad. I’m sad that people (us) make bad choices and get into a pile of debt. I’m sad that really good amazing people (my parents) are having to struggle right now as they determine what their next faith step is.

But what I’m most sad about is that I have so little faith. That I rely so much on stuff. Stuff and more stuff and a little bit more stuff.  Stuff that has absolutely no meaning when it comes right down to it. If we had to sell all of our possessions. If we or my parents had to sell our house or move.  It might be hard.  But for goodness gracious we wouldn’t be losing anything that’s really that important.

Because this girl. Kiran. She has a teeny tiny house. And not much else. And she is overflowing with joy. Why? Because it’s enough.

He is enough.

Two things I ask of you; deny them not to me before I die: Remove far from me falsehood and lying; give me neither poverty nor riches; feed me with the food that is needful for me, lest I be full and deny you and say, “Who is the LORD?” or lest I be poor and steal and profane the name of my God.  Proverbs 30.7-9

2 thoughts on “If you do anything today, please read this

    Jenny said:
    September 25, 2011 at 4:43 am

    Oh, how this gets me, too. When I spend a day lamenting my lack of a dishwasher. Or my total lack of style which makes me a jeans and t-shirt type of girl. All the time. Or my wish for a second computer…or…or…or…

    Stuff. Crap, all of it. God forgive us.

    Emily A said:
    September 25, 2011 at 9:32 pm

    Thank you for sharing. We’re going through the same sort of discussions right now. It’s so easy to get caught up into feeling like we need or deserve so many things. Definitely a huge struggle for us.

Leave a Reply

