Sunday dinner

Posted on

I don’t know about you, but I really struggle with Sunday dinner. By the time we get home from church the last thing I want to do is spend an hour in the kitchen. But I’ve struggled to find recipes that I can stick in the oven or crock pot in the morning and be ready right after church.

Or maybe I’m just too lazy?

Anyway, times they may be a changing. Last Sunday I used a recipe and it turned out so good. It was so easy to throw together. It was done when we got home from church. And it was super inexpensive.

Here’s the recipe I used  but I tweaked it a bit.

Instead of using chicken thighs I used split chicken breasts.  Our local grocery store had them on sale for $.88/lb and so I picked up a couple of packs. Each pack was around $4.00 and had 4 huge pieces in it.

I also removed the skin because, well, gross.  Don’t get me wrong. Give me some Pizza Ranch fried chicken any day and I’ll go to town but for some reason I just don’t like skin on my chicken when I’m cooking at home.

I followed the recipe for the sauce but decided to add our potatoes to it all.  Patrick helped and so while he cut up garlic for the sauce I washed 4 nice sized red potatoes. I used a 9×11 pan and put the chicken in and then the potatoes down the middle.  We spread the yummy looking sauce over all of it and covered it with foil.

This last Sunday we didn’t make it to Sunday school so weren’t leaving the house until 10:30. I figured we’d get home around 12:15-12:30 and so I was totally guessing when I decided to set the oven at 300 degrees.

Two hours at 300 degrees turned out to be perfect.  We got home about 12:30 and it smelled amazing. I took the foil off the top and turned on the broiler for about 10 minutes and then took out the potatoes. I put the chicken back in and while it cooked up just a bit more I cut up the potatoes into bite size pieces and got our frozen fresh sweet corn cooking.

After another 10 minutes or so I took the chicken out. I then decided to get all crazy and make gravy with all the great juice that was in the pan. I put the pan over the stove top and added about 2 tbsp of flour and a little water.  I whisked it up for a while and it was perfect.  Seriously? It was so easy.

Well yes. Yes I did ask Pat to style a plate for me so I could take a picture.

(Just keeping it real.)

Yum. O.

Here’s the lowdown on the cost.

Split chicken breast $4.00
4 red potatoes $1.00
Frozen sweet corn $.50
Bread $1.99
(And then of course minimal cost for seasonings, soy sauce, butter, etc)

So way under $10 for the entire meal and we had lots of leftovers.

Healthy? Yes very. Except for that darn gravy. That probably wasn’t too healthy.  Oh well.

I love this recipe. We are definitely going to be using it often, especially for Sunday dinner!  Do you have any tried and true Sunday dinner recipes? Please share!

Leave a Reply

