Cooking, crafting and caring all in one day

Posted on Updated on

With our upcoming trip for Pat’s half marathon we won’t be able to do our “caring for others” or “craft day” this week.  But I was able to find a couple of projects that covered both in addition to our cooking fun!

Cooking fun

Monday night before dance we had a snack of trail mix and the kids loved it. So I thought that would be a good snack to make for the trip and for in the hotel so we’re not raiding the vending machine.

Our trail mix ingredients included M-M’s, raisins, almonds and sunflower seeds.

I think I said, “One more scoop!” about 45 times.  

Ya! Mission completed!

Crafting and caring

After we finished our cooking fun we tackled our craft which also was our caring for others for the week.

I found this idea on Pinterest and the original idea was for helping kids with chores. Each day the kids pick out a stick and it tells them what chores to do that day.  I thought we could expand that and we came up with a list of sticks:

Chores
Family fun night ideas
Date night ideas
Praying for others

Last night I was thinking about this craft along with the fact that my husband and I really struggle to love with each other’s love language. It’s a constant battle and frustration for us both.  Why not create sticks that have love language ideas?

For our craft today we decided to just start with three – Love Languages for both me and pat and Praying for Others.

Supplies needed: large craft sticks, markers, duct tape and stickers. Those actually aren’t the supplies needed from the original idea.  I kinda tweaked it so it was a little easier for us. You can find all different colors of duct tape and that was fun for the kids.  I thought they would like putting stickers on the tips of the sticks but they didn’t.  So we went with plan B.

First I put the tape on the sticks.  Just eye-balled the size of tape I needed.

And then wrapped it around the stick.

Then I gave it to Caleb and he threw it in the pile. Literally.

If you know me, you know that this wasn’t the original plan.  But he wasn’t enjoying coloring or using the stickers and I was more than happy to let him throw sticks instead of color when I remembered we were using permanent markers.

Angel did a great job of coloring.  In. Her. Element.

After Angel got done coloring I would write on the stick either the love language idea for me or Daddy or the person/family we would be praying for.  (We still have to finish the coloring.) The kids helped me think of most of the people we’d be praying for, both family and friends.

I didn’t have an idea for what to put them in but then I saw these mason jars on my counter.  I don’t really like how we decorated the outside but it’s what I went with. Just wrapped duct tape around it a couple of times and then labeled it.  For the next group I might get a little more creative.

When we were all done we attempted to take a picture with the auto picture thing on the camera. But it kept doing dark.

Note to self: on a cold wintry day when the kids are bored take auto pictures with the kids. They thought it was the greatest thing ever.

Ours certainly didn’t turn out as pretty as the original idea but that’s ok. Each day we’ll take one or two sticks out of the Prayer jar and pray for the person/family.  And also each day Pat and I are supposed to take a stick and do whatever it says to express our love to each other.  I’m excited to see how it works!

Leave a Reply

