Hang on for a new ride

Posted on

I can’t believe it.

I didn’t think it would ever happen.

Hang on to your hats, people.

You can now officially call me a coyote.

And my alma mater jackrabbit its rolling over in its grave.

If it was dead. And had a grave.  (Obviously I’m a little dramatic about being a jackrabbit.)

Anyway, it’s official folks. I’m going back to school!  I kept waiting for some major roadblock so that I could wimp out and not do this very crazy thing but everything has worked out so smoothly. And I have complete peace that this is where God is leading.

I mentioned a few weeks ago that I had gotten accepted but still had alot of questions.

I called the admissions guy who had called me about getting accepted and it turns out they had me down for a student living on campus and going to school full-time at the main campus (1.5 hours away from me).

Was that maybe my roadblock? As Caleb would say, “NAH!”

So he – the admissions guy – got it all fixed and then the next day I got a call from the Nursing Program from the campus in my town to set up an appointment to meet with my advisor and get registered for classes. I didn’t have to wait too long and was able to meet with her yesterday.  (I’ll tell you about that meeting in a bit.)

One concern I had was my gpa from my sociology bachelors degree. It had to be at least 2.7 in order to apply for the Nursing program. I knew it’d be close but I just wasn’t sure. Turns out all the schools in the state have this thing called the world wide web and all the records are online now. The admissions guy had given me my student id and so I was able to register and get signed in to their computer system. Which means I was able to see my classes and gpa from my bachelors degree.

2.79 baby.

(Which I learned later was a fluke because you’re not suppose to be able to register for the website until you’ve registered for classes. Thank you Lord for that little fluke!)

Obviously I have alot of work to do to get accepted into the nursing program because I’ll be competing against all those young whipper snappers. If all my classes transferred I would still need microbiology and two classes of anatomy before nursing classes and so that’d give me an opportunity to raise my gpa.

The next concern I had was financial aid. We have absolutely no extra money to put towards school. Since they used 2010 income tax information, when I was working full-time and getting paid alot more, I didn’t get any grants and I was worried I wouldn’t get much for loans either.  On Friday when I pulled into the driveway to check the mail I thought to myself that maybe I’d get my financial aid award letter that day. With everything going on with my back and Thanksgiving I hadn’t even thought about it for days. Turns out, it was in the mailbox!  And we did get the financial aid we need! Woo hoo!

Speaking of my back, if you’ve read the past few posts you know that last week Saturday morning I woke up in alot of pain and pain radiating down my leg. I hadn’t had a flare up in a long time and so it was very frustrating but also discouraging because I wondered if this was my “sign” that I shouldn’t pursue nursing.  I saw my amazing chiropractor Monday and Tuesday last week and it helped alot and she reminded me that I need to consistently do my exercises even when I’m feeling good and quit bending over to pick up after the kids for goodness gracious. Bend at the knees. Left with your legs. Sit up straight. Blah blah blah. (I have degenerative disc disease so it’s something I’ll always have to deal with.)

I asked her honest opinion about going to nursing school. She kinda laughed at me and said if it’s something I’m feeling called to do then just do it. For the most part I can stay on top of my back issues and I’ll just have to a little selective of what positions I would take.  I realized her laugh was in love and that I just need to quit worrying about it and quit trying to think of an excuse.

My meeting with my advisor went great yesterday! She was so nice and encouraging and said probably half of her students are in the “same situation” I am. Which means they are old, tired, and haven’t been in school in a very long time.

All of my classes transferred and will count towards my major! How sweet is that?!  It’s sweet in that it will only take me about 2 years to get my degree but it also means my first three classes, Anatomy 1, Anatomy 2 and Microbiology are going to be really hard. And the test I have to take to get into the Nursing Program isn’t going to be a walk in the park either. She encouraged me to get a tutor for my first class this Spring, Anatomy 1, because it involves alot of chemistry.

Let me tell ya, I’ve been dreaming about studying chemistry for I don’t know how long. Or not.

I was hoping to do as many online classes as possible but my advisor encouraged me to take these first three classes as actual classes since they will be a little more difficult.  This Spring I’ll take my Anatomy 1 as a regular class Monday and Wednesday from 1:00-2:30 with lab on Wednesday from 2:30-5:00.  And then I’ll take English Lit as an online class. There are four classes that I need for generals for my BSN, English Lit being one of them.  Since taking Anatomy 1 and Microbiology together would be torture, we decided to go with a little easier class.

Easier? Ya, it’s also been 15 years since I took any type of English classes. I read the syllabus for the class and almost fainted.

I’m probably as nervous as I am excited.  I’m thankful for everyone who has been so encouraging. I’m amazed at how everything has fallen in to place to smoothly. And I’m praying like crazy that my 38 year-old brain doesn’t let me down!

4 thoughts on “Hang on for a new ride

    amy farley said:
    November 30, 2011 at 10:47 pm

    Yay!!!! Good for you- I think you will surprise yourself- you will do GREAT!!!!! don’t worry..classes are not bad & we will all help you if we can! (happy you are a coyote too)! amy

    Missy responded:
    December 1, 2011 at 7:36 am

    Thanks Amy! I’m so thankful for you and the nurses, you’ve all been amazing and such an inspiration to me! Still getting used to the coyote thing! 🙂

    Kristin said:
    December 1, 2011 at 8:17 am

    I am not sure if we can be friends now. I feel so betrayed. 😉

      Missy responded:
      December 1, 2011 at 3:31 pm

      LOL! SDSU will always be my first love! 🙂

Leave a Reply

