Weekend wrap up

Posted on

On Thursday my mom texted me and asked if the kids could go stay with them Saturday and Sunday.  I texted back and asked if the kids could go stay with them Thursday night through Sunday.

I think mama might have needed a little break.

Needing a little break might have had something to do with it. But I also wanted to spend some time with my brother and parents.   Being able to sleep in on Saturday morning had nothing to do with it. Really.

Anyway, the kids and I drove to my parent’s house Thursday night, arriving at around 9:30 pm.  They were of course fired up and ready to go and so it was 11:00 pm by the time they were asleep.  Usually this means they wake up even earlier than normal the next day, but Angel slept until 8:30 am! I couldn’t believe it, she never sleeps in that late.  After both kids were up we played for awhile, dumped toys all over Grama and Papa’s house, took a bath and posed for pictures…

(I don’t know if my son will ever forgive me for posting so many pictures of him in his undies!)

We then got ready to go see my brother and braved the cold weather. Brrr!  After a nice visit with Jim we met my mom and dad for lunch. And then I was on the road for home as I had to work at 4:00 pm and the roads were getting snowy and icy.

I might have been just a little bit excited to sleep in on Saturday morning. Unfortunately I made the mistake of buying the book Hunger Games for my Kindle on my PC.  I started reading it at work Friday night and had to finish it when I got home. And then I decided for some reason to watch the next episode of Parenthood, which I watch every week on Hulu.  And then it was 3:00 am and I realized that I’m missing precious hours of sleep.

I ended up getting more sleep than usual though. At 10:30 am Saturday morning Pat woke me and I couldn’t believe I slept seven straight hours. Heaven!  We eventually got up and decided to make a day of it, which for us means going to a movie.  It was Pat’s turn to pick (boo) and he’s been dying to see the new Underworld movie. We usually don’t go to R rated movies (not because we think it’s wrong, just because it’s something we decided awhile back as a couple), but since it was mostly just killing that made it R (nice) we decided to go. On the way over I called the cheap theatre and told him there were another really good vampire movie playing at the cheap theatre. He  might have glared at me.

Before the movie we had lunch at Pancake House. We usually don’t go there because most everything has egg or gluten in it.  But Pat loves him some pancakes. And they actually have alot of gluten-free foods. Pat got pecan pancakes and I got an omelette. Yum.  Then it was off to the movie. After the movie we did a little shopping and then went to the fitness center and worked out.  We almost went to another movie after that but decided that watching a movie in our nice warm home cuddled up in blankets would be much more fun.

Sunday was a full day as Pat and I were doing a skit at each of the services at church. Yes, you read that right. Pat did a skit with me. He’s a rock star.  We also had our couple’s Bible study, which is such a blessing to us and we had to be around all morning to sell tickets for an upcoming couple’s retreat we are helping with.  It was a full morning and I was thankful my parents had the kids because they would have been so tired and cranky by the time we got home.

Turns out they were tired and cranky anyway. Caleb ended up getting sick again and Angel always struggles with transitioning back home after being away from us. My parents brought the kids home about noon and unfortunately Angel whined and cried the entire day and night.  Caleb didn’t act too horribly sick but he was coughing again and was starting to get a cold sore on his lip.  They were so tired and so at 7:00 pm they took baths and by 8:00 pm they were in bed. Caleb was asleep immediately and Angel not shortly after.

They were both up a few times during the night so I was so thankful for a little extra sleep over the weekend.  By this morning (Monday), Angel was back to her happy silly self but Caleb wasn’t doing so good. When he woke up at midnight he had a fever and was coughing pretty bad. Monday morning the fever was gone but he was still coughing and the sore on his lip was huge and looked infected. 

Would you like to see a picture? No? Ok. Then you better turn away. 🙂

I called the doctor and they wanted to see him and were able to get him in this morning. Turns out his lip was infected and the doctor said it was infantigo.  And turns out he also had a double ear infection! He didn’t complain at all about his ears except Sunday night was complaining that everything was too loud.  So poor baby is on antibiotics again and hopefully he can finally get feeling better!

So now the kiddos are home, hopefully on the mend and we can get back to a normal routine this week.  Well, as normal as possible anyway, right!?

2 thoughts on “Weekend wrap up

    Jenny said:
    January 24, 2012 at 12:07 pm

    “since it was mostly just killing that made it R”…..funniest thing I have read today!!!

    Poor bub’s lip, that looks like it hurts. Hard to eat and talk or do much of anything with a face like that! Hope the drugs help!

    I can understand Angel’s tough transitions back. Just takes time and love.

    So glad you are still blogging through the midst of works, school, marriage, and kids!

      Missy responded:
      January 24, 2012 at 4:13 pm

      Hey friend. Ya, there was just something wrong with that statement. 🙂 Did you see Owlhaven’s post today? I posted a question to her and anyone about sleeping re Angel. Wish we could make some progress there. Hope all is well with you! Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

Leave a Reply

