Let’s do everything

Posted on

Music soothes my soul. When our life is chaotic and everyone is frazzled I often turn on the radio to KNWC or KLOV and it brings calm.  It brings my focus back to God and His Word and Truth.

I heard Do Everything by Steven Curtis Chapman the other day for the first time.  I seriously love this song. Not only is it a good dancing song, but most of all, the message is amazing.

Especially the first verse.  Except for the coloring the lips part. I can’t remember the last time I wore lip stick. Too busy kissing my husband ya know, so what’s the point.

Well anyway, as I was saying, this song is such a great encouragement to me. I think regardless of what our role in life is, it’s easy to get discouraged that we’re not doing enough. Or we can be tricked into thinking that if we’re not doing something really “flashy” then it’s of less importance.

I know that when I’m washing the kids sheets for the fourth day in a row or making peanut butter and jelly sandwiches for lunch again, I sometimes wonder if there isn’t more to this thing we call life. Shouldn’t I be doing more? Isn’t there something more important?  And I think back on my days and most days I feel like I have accomplished absolutely nothing.  And yet all that stuff I consider nothing, is everything God can use.

Everything we do, we can do it to bring glory to God. Every decision I make and every person I come in contact with and every single minute with my husband and my kiddos is an opportunity to be used of God.

So today, let’s do everything. No, not everything. In fact, let’s stop doing everything. But everything we do, let’s do it for the glory of God!  (Wow, that was a little confusing and totally awesome all at the same time!)

Your picking up toys on the living room floor for the 15th time today 
Matching up socks 
Sweeping up lost cheerios that got away 

You put a baby on your hip 
Color on your lips and head out the door 

While I may not know you, 
I bet I know you 
Wonder sometimes, does it matter at all? 

Well let me remind you, it all matters just as long 
As you do everything you do to the glory of the One who made you, 
Cause he made you, 
To do 
Every little thing that you do 
To bring a smile to His face 
Tell the story of grace 
With every move that you make 
And every little thing you do 

Maybe your that guy with the suit and tie 
Maybe your shirt says your name 

You may be hooking up mergers 
Cooking up burgers 
But at the end of the day 

Little stuff 
Big stuff 
In between stuff 
God sees it all the same 

While I may not know you 
I bet I know you 
Wonder sometimes, does it matter at all? 

Well let me remind you, it all matters just as long 
As you do everything you do to the glory of the One who made you, 
Cause he made you 
To do 
Every little thing that you do 
To bring a smile to His face 
Tell the story of grace 
With every move that you make 
And every thing you do 

Maybe your sitting in math class 
Or maybe on a mission in the Congo 
Or maybe your working at the office 
Singing along with the radio 

Maybe your dining at a 5-star 
Or feeding orphans in the Myanmar 
Anywhere and everywhere that you are 

Whatever you do 
It all matters 
So do what you do 
Don’t ever forget 

To do everything you do to the glory of the One who made you, 
Cause He made you 
To do 
Every little thing that you do 
To bring a smile to His face 
And tell the story of grace 

As you do everything you do to the glory of the One who made you, 
Cause he made you 
To do 
Every little thing that you do 
To bring a smile to His face 
And tell the story of grace 
With every move that you make 
And every little thing you do 

In every little thing you do 
In every little thing you do

One thought on “Let’s do everything

    Mom said:
    February 23, 2012 at 6:16 am

    love it, Missy! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

