I need to be careful to not be too thankful

Posted on

A few months ago I was feeling great pride in my kids that they never cut their hair when they were little and I whispered a word of thanks to God.

Well guess what? They are still little.

We recently graduated to “real” scissors for the kids. Caleb’s teacher actually suggested it. Originally we bought them the kind that are attached at the bottom. Lame. But I thought that was what they were supposed to have.  So we bought them real toddler scissors. The kind that actually cut. One pair each for school and one pair each for home.

They love to cut. Doesn’t every kid? They were playing quietly (oh dear) in the office/play room the other day and I went in to find that they had attacked all their fuzzoodles. I neglected to take a picture because I was ticked trying to be patient and redirect them.  Welcome to the family new vacuum. You’re about to get broken in. I put the scissors up high and thought nothing of it.

The past few days though, Angel’s hair has been pretty wacky. But that’s really nothing out of the ordinary. Obviously we aren’t as attentive to our kids as we’d like to think we are.  Even when I braided her hair I didn’t see it.  Well yesterday, a week after their little scissor play time, I realized that she had cut it.  We grew her bangs out because we figured it would be pretty wild and crazy if she had bangs because of her natural curl. Turns out we were right.

(I realize I am the worst picture taker in the world have the worst camera in the world. It’s the best I got though.)

“Angel show me the face mommy made when I realized you cut your hair.”  HAHA!

“Mama. STOP. TAKING. MY. PICTURE.”

The moral of the story?

Angel rocks the mullet look.

She’s still the most adorable thing ever.

The next time you thank the Lord that your kids didn’t do something, watch out.

3 thoughts on “I need to be careful to not be too thankful

    Leana Hellman said:
    March 8, 2012 at 10:20 am

    Oh, Angel just wanted bangs like her auntie Leana!!! Ps if you want I can cut (trim) her hair for you when you guys are here?

      Missy responded:
      March 8, 2012 at 1:03 pm

      That would be great! They are crazy uneven now! 🙂

    my life is Christ's said:
    March 8, 2012 at 2:55 pm

    Nellie, I know you always read Missy’s blog. I started to tell Angel about the time when you were her age and YOU cut YOUR hair!!!! You really chopped your bangs off! But then I thought better of telling her, because she wants to be like her Aunt Nellie! (:)

Leave a Reply

