Blessed

Posted on

I pulled into the parking lot at the Imaging Center. All morning I tried not to think about what they might find. Just before I was going to turn off the car, the song “Blessed Be Your Name” came on the radio.

I was transported back to January 2005. It was a Sunday morning at church and we had just learned that our Pastor’s wife, a beloved woman of God, loving wife, mother and grandmother, and mentor to me (and many others), had been diagnosed with late stage cancer. The praise team sang that same song and as we sang, it was as if God was holding us all close and reminding us that He was near.  To this day, whenever I hear that song, I am reminded of this family’s journey and of the faithfulness of God.

So with tears streaming down my face I listened to this song again, 7 years later. Was I now facing a possible diagnosis of cancer? I’ve been told not to even go there, to stay positive. And yet, how is that possible when the doctor says, “It’s suspicious for cancer.” I spoke the words of the song because I couldn’t sing and I promised God that I would bless His name. He gives and He takes away. Blessed be the name of the Lord. When the darkness closes in. Still I will say blessed be the name of the Lord.

I hope and pray that I will bless His name. No matter what tomorrow brings. Whether it’s cancer now at 38 or cancer at 83. For me, my kids, husband, family or friends. I know that when hard times come, it’s normal to question and wonder why.  There is no right way to grieve.  But there is a God who never changes. There is a God who never leaves our side. There is a God who promises an eternity of no pain and suffering when we trust in His Son.

Blessed be the name of the Lord.

Blessed be the name of the Lord now and forever. Psalm 113:2

One thought on “Blessed

    pennstatecutie said:
    April 4, 2012 at 7:04 pm

    Praying for you, Missy…(((HUGS)))

Leave a Reply

