Unexpected stop at the ER

Posted on Updated on

First of all, I should apologize for my spelling, grammar and anything I say that is inappropriate in this post.  They have put a lot of morphine in my iv and the whole world is spinning.

In the last episode of Missy’s Health Drama I was scheduled to have surgery next Wednesday.  For some reason I was just turned off by the doctor’s attitude towards all this and feeling like he thought I was a little bit loco. I decided that I was going to see how soon I could get in to see Dr Rojas, the obgyn oncologist I was supposed to see who has been on vacation. And then if it was going to be forever I was praying/thinking getting a second opinion from a different obgyn.

After having a little time to chill out and listen to the opinion of my sweet hubby, we decided to just do the surgery and get it over with. When I talked to the scheduler she said there was actually an opening on Monday the 16th and was going to confirm that with the doctor.

Today I hadn’t heard anything and so I called back again. The scheduler said that they had me penciled in for Monday but that the doctor wanted to talk to me first.  I had class at 1:00 and so I popped a half a pain pill and hoped I could stay awake for two hours.

Right before class I started having horrible abdominal pain. I’ve been having pain for the past three weeks – really bad cramping that never goes away and then intermittent sharp pain. Well this pain was sharp and it was constant. I also started feeling light-headed and nauseated. I went to class but was feeling horrible and so I left and called Pat to come get me.

The pain wouldn’t go away, in fact it was getting worse and I just felt weird. I don’t know how to describe it. And so we came to the ER. They gave me morphine right away and it didn’t even touch the pain. A second dose has helped a little.  They did another ultrasound and decided to admit me to try to get the pain under control.  The surgeon is supposed to be coming any time to talk about surgery. There’s been talk of moving it up but who knows what they’ll decide on.

Edited to add: 

The surgeon was just here. They are going to do some rearranging with schedules and do surgery on Friday morning. They didn’t want to discharge me and then take the chance of having problems over the weekend.  Pat will keep you updated as far as how things go with surgery. 

That’s all I know for now. We will keep you posted and thanks very much for your prayers.

One thought on “Unexpected stop at the ER

    sincerelyanna said:
    April 11, 2012 at 6:54 pm

    Wow, Missy! I’m so sorry the pain has been so awful. Will keep your surgery in my prayers. – Anna

Leave a Reply

