The coolest socks in the ER

Posted on Updated on

Did your mom ever tell you to wear clean underwear in case you ever got in an accident? Well my mom used to tell me to wear cool socks in case I ever end up in the ER.

Just kidding. My mom didn’t really say that. But I did happen to be wearing really cool socks  yesterday.

Whenever the doctor or nurse comes into the room and asks how’s it going I want to say, “Look at my face. How do you think it’s going?”  Ha! Just kidding. You know I would never say that. Although it’s how I feel. Kinda like I got hit wit a bi turn.

(Translation: Kinda like I got hit with a big truck.)

Well that last sentence is proof that I’m on really strong pain meds and they are not effecting me at all.

Last night was pretty rough. Not only was the pain bad but I was so nauseated and light-heated. I have to pee all the time (here comes some TMI) but it takes forever to get all the pee out. This is a common symptom of both a benign and malignant tumor.

This morning I started vomiting. Ick. Whenever I get up to pee (which unfortunately is alot) or anytime I try to eat something I get horribly nauseated and usually end up vomiting.  For breakfast I ate one grape. For lunch I had a bite of lasagna. And for supper I managed a couple bites of mashed potatoes. They are encouraging me to walk as much as I can but I’m still really light-headed.  The doctor decided to change pain meds in hopes that some of my symptoms would get better. I’ve been on that for a couple hours now. I’m still a little nauseated but it doesn’t seem to be as bad.  The nurse made me a chocolate shake and hopefully that yummy treat will stay in my tummy!

So thankful for my two sweeties! They are a little confused as to what’s going. But think it’s cool to sit on mommy’s bed and watch a movie.

My parents came up last night to help manage the kiddos and my sister is coming next week for a few days. We are so blessed to have both of our families who are so willing to help whenever there’s a need. And the friends! Words can’t begin to describe our thankfulness for the prayers, encouragement and offers of help.

The doctor/surgeon has been here a couple times today.  We’ve talked extensively about removing the right ovary, the one without the mass. His concern is that the “chronic pain” I’m dealing with might not be remedied by taking out the ovary and then we’d also be dealing with menopause. He said I’m young – and I quickly interrupted that I’m not that young.

Really? Who says that? Perhaps I should just enjoy the fact that someone thinks I’m young.

Well then he said I’m way too young to have to deal with all the stuff associated with menopause. Pat was here the second time the doctor was here and asked a lot of questions. The Dr said “obviously we don’t want to end up with a 2nd surgery, but we need to make sure it’s the right thing to do”.

The surgery will be at 9:30am (Friday). There is a lot we still don’t know because it all depends on what they find during the surgery. As I’ve already mentioned, they will start with the scope and if it’s cancer or if the adhesion’s are too severe then he’ll have to open me up. We also don’t know how long I’ll be in the hospital after the surgery. It all depends on what they find.

Yesterday in the ER, Pastor Kirk came and shared a word of prayer with us. He also shared a scripture that was extremely encouraging to us. So much so that Pat wrote it on the board in my room.

Thanks again for your prayers. Pat will post an update as soon as I’m out of surgery.

2 thoughts on “The coolest socks in the ER

    sincerelyanna said:
    April 12, 2012 at 9:42 pm

    Well, who wants to eat hospital lasagne anyway? 🙂 I hope you start feeling better on the new meds and can sleep better tonight. You’re being lifted up in prayer here in Maryland. Great verse!

      Missy responded:
      April 13, 2012 at 3:18 am

      Well so much for sleep. But lots of time to pray. Thanks for your prayers and encouragement!

Leave a Reply

