Shark attack

Posted on

When the kids got home from my parent’s house I showed them my tummy.

Caleb said, “Shark bite you mama?”

Well, kinda.

Not very often do I bare my stomach to the world. You’re welcome. I’m sorry.

The past few days have been spent on the couch or in bed, trying and usually failing to eat, counting down the minutes until I can take my next pain pill, and watching Grey’s Anatomy.

Speaking of Grey’s Anatomy, I’m almost through the 3rd season. And can I just say, get it together people!? I mean seriously.

I had to miss church yesterday and that was such a huge bummer. Not only missing worship, but missing our couple’s group. To be honest it was really scary for Pat and I to take that step of faith and be a part of a small group. It’s hard to make yourself vulnerable in that way. But God has used those friends and so many others to bless our socks off. We are so thankful!

My view from the couch hasn’t been all that bad.

~Grama Susie and kids playing puzzles.

~My sister and Angel cooking supper.   I love listening to my sister teach Angel about cooking. She was telling her the differences between red and green peppers.

(I obviously got off the couch to take this picture!)

I just heard my sister say, “Last night we were cooks and today we’re going to be hair stylists!”

Caleb says, “Woo hoo hair stylists!”

LOL! They are going to cut my sister’s dog’s hair!

~Pat and kids playing cars.

The rest of the week will hopefully be pretty uneventful. I don’t work until Thursday and hopefully I’ll be feeling alot better by then. My sister is here today and tomorrow and then Pat is off work the rest of the week.

We are looking forward to Friday night as some friends gifted us with tickets to Casting Crowns. It will be the first concert that Pat and I have been to together and we are so excited! Granted, I’ll have to take it easy and not be dancing around like a crazy lady, but that’s ok. I’ll leave the dancing to Pat! Ha!

I’ve managed to not quite flunk out of school yet. My teachers have been so understanding. I missed most of anatomy lecture on Wednesday and will probably miss today but I also have some classmates who have been helping me by sharing notes. What a blessing! I had to take a quiz last night on last week’s lectures. My first attempt I got a 50%. I then begged God to have mercy on me. My second attempt I got a 90%! Woo hoo! I have an 88 or 89% overall and I so badly want to get an A.  Unfortunately these chapters, the ones I’ve been sick for, have been the hardest for me.  My other class, English online, is going ok. I had a pretty big essay due yesterday but my professor gave me some extra time so I guess I’ll be working on that in the next few days!

Once again I just want to thank you for all of your prayers and support. You have been such a blessing to us during this time!

And one last quote from the couch.

My sister and kids are cutting her dog’s hair right now. The kids are starting to get a little naughty.

My sister just said, “If you throw hair or put hair on Angel one more time you are going to get fired as a barber.”

Caleb said, “Uh oh.”

And then Nellie was cutting underneath his tummy and she said she has to be very careful because that is where Charlie goes potty.

Angel said, “He has a pee pee!?”

Nellie said, “Yep, he’s a boy.”

Caleb says, “I have a pee pee. See I show you.”

HA!

3 thoughts on “Shark attack

    Leah Gainey Anderson said:
    April 16, 2012 at 11:19 am

    Enjoyed reading this one. Sounds like the kids are getting some really good life lessons.

      Missy responded:
      April 16, 2012 at 4:21 pm

      That’s for sure! They are definitely ready to get back to some sort of normalcy. Especially Caleb, he’s been an emotional mess since all this happened! He’s a little bit like his mama! 🙂

    sincerelyanna said:
    April 16, 2012 at 5:13 pm

    Get well soon, Missy!!

Leave a Reply

