Ryan and Barbara

Posted on

Today I wanted to tell you about some friends of ours. Many of you know them. But still I’m going to write.  And take you down memory lane. Because I’m angry and sad and writing brings me comfort. And I’m hoping that if you aren’t already, that you’ll join me in praying for them.

I used to work for my church. I was a ministry assistant to Pastor Paul. He was the Youth Pastor but then transitioned out of that role to become the Pastor of Small Group Ministry.  While he continued to oversee the Youth ministry, the Youth ministry assistant, Ryan, took over the bulk of the work for the Youth.  So the three of us were kind of a team, working together and encouraging and supporting each other.

Every week we would meet in Pastor Paul’s office. Pastor would always ask us how our walk with the Lord was going. Some weeks I hated it when he asked me that because I was really struggling. But he and Ryan’s encouragement and mentoring to me is a blessing I will forever be grateful for.  We also talked alot of life. We became great friends.

I remember the day like it was yesterday when Ryan told us about meeting the girl he was going to marry. Her name was Barbara and he met her at our town’s little ski hill where he worked pt as an instructor. His eyes sparkled as he told us about her and we knew that he was head over heels.

They were married in March of 2008. Pat and I were honored to be asked to be host and hostess for the reception. I remember sitting through the wedding ceremony and thinking about my own marriage and how God had blessed us so abundantly. In fact I wrote about it here.

(Quit reading if intimate personal details of a person’s life offends you.)

I’m almost positive that the night of Ryan and Barbara’s wedding was the night that we conceived Caleb. The reason I know this is because it was the only night we had sex since Angel came home.  Let’s just say one colicky baby plus one tired mama does not equal much lovin’ for the daddy. And for all those people who think that people get pregnant after adopting because they are relaxed, um no, that’s not really the case.

Anyway. Thankfully we’ve continued to stay in touch even though we no longer work together. Princess and Prankster are also good friends with Ryan and Barbara and we’ve managed to schedule a few times to hang out. Barbara was one of the ladies at this shower for Princess, and Ryan preached the message at P & P’s wedding. Even though we don’t hang out as much as we’d like, we love them so much and are so thankful for them in our life!

We were thrilled with joy to learn earlier this year that Ryan and Barbara were expecting identical twin boys! Unfortunately they learned during one of the ultrasounds that the boys were having some problems. Barbara eventually had to go on bed rest and the boys were delivered on April 18th at 31-32 weeks.

I’m not going to share details about how they are all doing because Ryan has been able to share so eloquently on their blog.  All I would like to do – after making you go down memory lane with me – is ask you to please pray for this precious family.

I feel like a complete faith failure because honestly, lately I’ve been so angry when I think about this road they are on. Yes, I realize we live in a fallen world. Yes, I trust and believe in the promises of God’s Word. But still, for some reason, this has really rocked my faith. And I know that’s ok.  Because God can handle my anger and sadness and questions. And so I’ll just keep crying out to Him on their behalf.

I’m not going to tell you they have great faith. I’m not going to tell you they are trusting in God’s plan. While most days I’m sure they are, I’m also sure there are alot of days where the questions speak louder than anything.  And so I just tell you that these two people have inspired us and encouraged us over the years, and they continue to do so. But they are hurting and their precious baby boys really need our prayers right now.

Chase Life Blog

Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen. Ephesians 3:20-21

Leave a Reply

