Dad can fix it

Posted on

Caleb and I were leaving the church after dropping off Angel at school. He was climbing into his seat when he realized something.

“Wait mama. I show you something.”

He lept out of the van and ran to the front.

“Look!”

He pointed to an area of rust and was very concerned about this discovery. I said to him, “Uh oh Bubs. What are we going to do about that?”

“We tell Dad. Dad can fix it.”

Both Caleb and Angel are always 100% sure about one thing. Dad can fix it. No matter the problem, they know that their dad will always be there. He will always have an answer. And in their world, he can fix anything.

It’s funny, even as an almost 40-year-old, I have the same feelings about my dad. After my husband, my dad is the first person I think of when I need something fixed.

I was thinking about this today and realized that as much as children look to their dads for help, how much more does our Heavenly Father long to be to the fixer in our life!

And yet with each passing year, that trust and confidence in our Heavenly Father sometimes starts to wane. I know that the first thought in Caleb’s head is, “Dad can fix it!”  Oh how I pray that I could be more like Caleb.  When the hard days come. When questions arise. When I fall in to bed weary and tired.  In the good and the bad.  I wish that more often my first thought would be, “Heavenly Daddy – you can fix this!”

Now granted His “fixing” is probably not giving us exactly what we want. His “fixing” is sometimes answering our prayers in a way much different then we imagined.  But He is ready. He is able.  And more often than not what He fixes is our heart and our attitude and helps us to rely more on Him and less on ourselves.

Dad can fix it!

One thought on “Dad can fix it

    Tashia Uken said:
    May 9, 2012 at 7:58 am

    Great post! Things that seem so obvious are the things I miss or don’t think about as often as I should.

Leave a Reply

