The one where I ask the world wide web what to do

Posted on

Question numero uno: I would like to lose the 15 10 pounds I’ve gained since last Fall, stop drinking pop and stop eating evil no good processed foods. How do you do it? Ya know for more than one day in a row.

Question numero dos: How do you not freak out when not one, but both of your children now go into the bathroom stall by themselves, and explain that they no longer need mama’s assistance. How do you stand there all alone and not cry and not demand that too bad so sad your mama is always always always going to help you go to the bathroom?

Question numero tres: Is it bad to forget to take your meds? (Just kidding.)

Question numero quatro: Why am I writing in Spanglish? (Don’t answer that.)

Question numero cinco and the real reason I’m writing this post: I’m thinking about changing up my schooling plans. Here’s a background in case you aren’t familiar with all the craziness.

I have a Bachelor’s degree in Sociology and this Spring went back to school to get my 2-year nursing degree. The school that offers this degree decided to mess with my life and has now discontinued the program. They still offer their 4-year nursing degree, which I’ve now switched to and I should complete that in about 2025.  Ok, not really, I think it’ll only take me until 2016 or 2017.

The deal is that I’d really like to start working as a nurse before then. There’s another school in town that offers a LPN degree and then after that you can get an RN degree. I have the generals done already and so I think I could get my LPN within a year, year and 1/2 at most. And then in a perfect world I’d get a part-time job in a clinic and continue with schooling to get my 2-year RN and then online to get my BSN.

So my question? Well, I guess I’m not sure. The insecure me is rearing its ugly head and so I think I just need some validation that this isn’t a ridiculous idea. So let me have it. Be honest. If you say something I don’t like I promise that I’ll just ignore it take it under consideration.

Gracious.

Yours truly,

Crazy Spanglish lady

One thought on “The one where I ask the world wide web what to do

    Jenny said:
    May 22, 2012 at 5:42 am

    I think that sounds like a fabulous idea, getting the LPN first then working and school for RN. Seriously, I do. Go for it! (As for uno and dos…I have no idea!)

Leave a Reply

