Tears from heaven

Posted on

{Words cannot express our gratitude for your prayers and support during this time. Please know that while we aren’t able to reply to every comment or email, we are reading every single one. We are so thankful for your outpouring of love and for those who are able to share memories of our parents.}

{If you are new to my blog, you may wonder why in the world I’m blogging during this time. If you are not new to my blog, you know that writing is therapeutic for me. And now every morning when I wake up and realize this isn’t a dream, I ask my mom what I’m supposed to do. And she says to me, “Go to God’s Word.” And then she says, “Write.” So I will go to God’s Word and I will write as we walk through this journey. Thank you for walking with us.}

We sat on the rocks along the river. The police continued to tell us that we could leave, that there was nothing else for us to do. But we weren’t leaving. Not while our parents were still on the boat.

We were there for almost four hours. As soon as we got there it started to rain. Not a hard rain, just a light drizzle on and off. One of the officers complained about it starting to rain. But I was thankful for the rain because I imagined it was Jesus weeping along with us.

But you, Lord, are a compassionate and gracious God, slow to anger, abounding in love and faithfulness. Psalm 86:15

While we cried out to God, asking Him why He would choose to take them both in this way, we also trust in the faith that my parents clung to as they lived each day.  That our God is compassionate, loving and faithful.  And so I believe with all that is within me, that God was holding us there, and crying tears for us.

When we finally did leave, as we drove out-of-town, it began to rain a little bit heavier. My brother drove and I sat in the front seat, looking at the sky, wondering what we do next.  The rain came down against the window and again, I thanked Jesus for His tears. For crying with us. For showing us that He was there.

I took this picture.

It wasn’t until later that I looked at it and saw that while I was taking a picture of the rain on the window, in the background there was a church. A cross.

Jesus, we know you are with us. We know that you love us and have compassion on us and are weeping with us. Thank you for your tears from heaven. Hold us now. Help us to cling to the Cross. The Cross that allows us to have the hope of heaven.

4 thoughts on “Tears from heaven

    Chris said:
    June 14, 2012 at 7:03 am

    Thanks for allowing us to weep with you. Write, indeed, Missy. It’s therapy for many. Continued blessings as He wraps you in His loving arms.

    Delores Arbach said:
    June 14, 2012 at 7:50 am

    My prayers are with you all. Your writing about your thoughts helps us all as we struggle with accepting this tragedy. Your parents were wonderful! I couldn’t be around them without feeling lighter of spirit when I left their presence as they had such a peace about them. My favorite memory of your dad was when I was trying, with limited tools, to put my mailbox up along the road. Al was driving by as he was going to get his mail; he stopped to talk, then went back up to their house to get the right tools and helped me put it in right. That’s the kind of person they both were. They will be missed!

    sincerelyanna said:
    June 14, 2012 at 1:34 pm

    I’m praying and weeping with you, as well. I’m so glad you’re blogging.

    arianalapointe said:
    June 26, 2012 at 1:21 am

    I loved al and sue. I spent two years with them and they were the best houseparents at st.joes. Al and I had a very close realtionship and he was always there. Sometimes id sneek out of my room asking him to make me an egg sandwich and he never said no. Sue was so caring, i always loved it when she asked me things like “how was your day” or how was school? They were both very supportive caring people and i loved them sooooooo much. I still cant believe that there gone and i regret not making more of an effort to visit them or even make a simple phone call to say hello. Iam sorry for your loss iam so so so sorry. I cant even image the way you feel. I wish i could find out where they are. Send some flowers or come visit them
    If you can provide that info iam on facebook. I search for you missy but i can find you. Please help me. I only wanna say goodbye to them.

Leave a Reply

