Trust me

Posted on Updated on

Have you ever had God call you to do something that was a little bit out of your comfort zone? Ok, how about alot out of your comfort zone? How about out of other people’s comfort zone?

What? Other people’s comfort zone?

I think know God is calling me to something. I don’t really know yet what it is, but let me tell you it’s something! It’s something where God will use me to share my story (His story) of pain, loneliness, rebellion, failure and grief, but most importantly restoration, forgiveness and hope. 

But here’s the deal. I have this deep fear that other people won’t think God is really calling me to this. Does that make sense? I suppose it’s just a fear of rejection and fear of not being understood. To be honest with you, it’s not really a fear. To me it’s an annoyance. Because when people doubt that God is calling a person to something, they are not really doubting that person, they are doubting God.

(And yes I understand the whole thing about needing to seek wise counsel and all that.)

So this morning I was debating this whole thing with God. What is it God that you are calling me to? Why do I feel it’s really going to stretch me? Why do I feel that other people are going to think I’m crazy? Am I crazy?

And the Lord spoke, in a still small voice, “Trust me.”

“Ok God, I will. BUT…”

“Trust me.”

I stopped arguing with God and I thought about Moses. And I almost laughed out loud because I so get Moses. God appeared to him in the burning bush and called him to this new thing…

“So now, go. I am sending you to Pharaoh to bring my people the Israelites out of Egypt.” (Exodus 3:10)

And Moses said, “Woo hoo! You bet God, I’m packing my bags!”

Ooops, wrong translation.

What Moses really said was, “Who am I that I should go to Pharaoh and bring the Israelites out of Egypt?” (Exodus 3:11)

I hear ya Moses, I hear ya.

Of course we know the rest of the story, right?  Moses kept questioning and questioning and gave every excuse under the sun as to why he wasn’t really called to this.

But as I thought about Moses this morning I began to wonder if his fear of going to rescue the Israelites wasn’t so much about doubting God or even himself. Perhaps his greater fear was whether or not there would there be anyone to encourage him or walk with him or believe with him that despite his failings and past (murder!), that God could indeed do this mighty work through his willing and open hands.

So I ask you today friends…

Is God calling you to something? Trust Him. Trust in His strength to see you through.

Is God calling someone you love to something but you’re just not sure, and think they might be off their rocker a little bit? Trust Him. Pray with your friend. Encourage them to listen to God and follow Him no matter the cost.

Thank you Lord for your calling in our life. Whether it’s to walk next door and be an example of Jesus’ love to our neighbor, or pack our bags and fly across the ocean to a country who despises Your name. Help us to trust you Lord and believe in the power of Your love and of the mighty work of Your hand.

signature

One thought on “Trust me

    PQ said:
    February 18, 2013 at 10:02 pm

    🙂

Leave a Reply

