Faithful

Posted on Updated on

I’ve been thinking alot lately about what it means to be faithful. Specifically about God being faithful. I could go on and on and even tell you personal stories of how people are so not faithful. And maybe I’ll talk more about that another time. But I’m thinking more about God and how He is always faithful. His word says a lot about it.

1 Chronicles 16:34 Give thanks to The Lord for he is good, His faithful love endures forever.

Psalm 31:5 I entrust my spirit into your hand.Rescue me, Lord, for you are a faithful God.

Psalm 57:10 For your unfailing love is as high as the heavens.Your faithfulness reaches to the clouds.

Psalm 100:5 For the Lord is good.His unfailing love continues forever,and his faithfulness continues to each generation.

And that’s just the beginning.

God is faithful. It’s who He is. Regardless of you or me. Regardless of the choices we make. And regardless of His will.

It’s easy to say He is faithful when He rescues us from our own selfish choices. Of course He’s faithful then. Or even when we are faced with a horrible situation and He provides a way out or healing or restoration. Yep, He’s faithful.

But what about when things are happening in our life and He doesn’t rescue. What about when His answer to our pleas and cries are met with a “no” or “not yet” or “my ways are not your ways”? What about when the healing never comes? What about when the marriage isn’t saved, a heart isn’t changed? What about when a child is called home to heaven? What about when there seems to be no way past an addiction? What about when He takes your mom and dad and you don’t get to say goodbye?

When we are in the middle of those deep, dark valleys of life it is so easy to declare that He is not faithful.

But He is still faithful friends. He never ceases to be faithful. More than I ever have in my life, I have experienced and felt and clung to the faithfulness of God these past eight months. I’ve questioned His timing and His ways, but He has been present and faithful in so many ways.

He is faithful. No matter what you are enduring now or what may come tomorrow, I pray that you would come to trust in His timing and His ways and know that He is still faithful.

3 thoughts on “Faithful

    Sarah said:
    February 20, 2013 at 11:05 pm

    Missy – I was going to leave a comment for you on FB, but maybe you’re not on there anymore? Good for you, though, if you’ve stepped away from that! Anyway, your post reminded me of the song by Matt Redmen called “Never Once”…I totally thought of you when I heard it the first time. Take care, friend!

      Missy responded:
      February 21, 2013 at 4:55 am

      I haven’t heard that song, going to look it up right now! πŸ™‚ and yes off of Facebook. Not sure if forever but it is sure freeing to not be on it. Loved watching Jake last night, so awesome to be open to God using him (I think he might have a good example at home :)) blessings to you friend!

        Sarah said:
        February 21, 2013 at 8:41 am

        Good for you. Proud of you for staying off. Focus on the important, my friend. πŸ™‚ Loved to see you singing on Praise team as well. Jacob loves loves loves to play. We’re trying to figure out how best to get the guitar on a plane and down south with us! πŸ™‚ He needs to start working on some Spanish worship songs! Hope the song spoke to you – it resonates with me in so many ways.

Leave a Reply

