A few surprises in Chamberlain

Posted on

Our weekend in Chamberlain turned in to a day trip to Chamberlain. Pat and Tracy left about 8:00 am on Friday and the kids and I were right behind them at around 9:00 am. After a few bathroom and snack breaks we finally got to Chamberlain a little before noon. Pat, the kids and I then went down to Cedar Shores where the boats were parked.

Climbing up on Mom and Dad’s boat. The kids were great helpers for Pat.

20130317-213536.jpg

I sat in the car. And also walked around outside the boats taking pictures. The boat on the left is Amitie, the boat being shipped up to WI. The one on the right is Alibi. We’re hoping to find a buyer local for that one.

20130317-213547.jpg

One last picture on the back of the boat.

20130317-213542.jpg

Pat found all sorts of treasures. Including an envelope hidden with money. Dad was always doing that. Thankfully Pat thought to look in every nook and cranny!

20130317-213603.jpg

The most amazing surprise still just completely blows me away. Pat came out of the boat and said, “Here Missy look at this.”

20130317-223431.jpg

It’s titled, “A Note From Heaven.” and it’s signed “Your Heavenly Father.” Wow. Even more amazing is in the top left hand corner there’s a little note written, “Give to Missy Hellman.”  It’s not Mom or Dad’s handwriting.

How weird is that. Of course the letter was exactly what I needed to hear, and I’m sure what all of us needed to hear.  It just blows my mind.

After about an hour we decided to take a lunch break. It was getting a little too overwhelming being there and not being able to help. So we met Tracy for lunch and then Pat went back to the boat to finish up.  The kids, Tracy and I stayed at the house and did a little bit of cleaning.

Pat called after another 3 hours and he was needing help getting things down from the boat in to Tracy’s truck. Honestly I didn’t want to go but there was really no other option. So I went and started helping him. I wasn’t going to go inside but I just couldn’t bear the thought of not saying goodbye. It was the last opportunity I would have.

So I went on to the boat. I helped Pat a little bit, double checking drawers and cabinets and then it all got to be too much. I sat down on the couch and just sat. I looked around and remembered. I looked in to the kitchen and saw Mom standing there making us lunch. I looked at the chairs and saw Dad sitting there, messing around with the kids.  Tears streamed down my face and as my friend Kristin later said to me, I just “sat in it.”  I sat in the grief and the memories and let it overwhelm. As painful as it was I know it was good.

We got everything off the boat and everything ready for the boat to be trucked to WI. There was still some things left to load in to the truck but I told Pat I had to go. I drove through the parking lot and looked over to the docks. Mom and Dad’s pelican was still at their dock slot.  Sitting there all alone in the cold and snow and ice.  I cried and cried and cried. How was it possible that we were doing this?

I drove back to the house and of course Angel asked why my face was red. She always asks me and I always say the same thing, “Because I miss Grama and Papa.”

Tracy and I unloaded everything into the garage at Mom and Dad’s house.  Alot of it is garbage or give-away but we were too overwhelmed to deal with it right then.  I couldn’t believe they had all that stuff packed in that boat! We did take home a few things, but left most of it for our next trip.  We did find an old credit card of Nellie’s. Except it wasn’t expired yet. Woo hoo!

20130317-213611.jpg

After getting everything unloaded we decided to head for home. It was about 5:30 pm and we were exhausted; Pat physically and me and Tracy emotionally. There was alot left we could have done at the house, but a local guy is considering buying the house and so we aren’t listing it quite yet.

I took one last picture before we left.  I’ve mentioned this sign before.  “The most important things in life aren’t things.” And the beautiful view out a window at Mom and Dad’s house.

20130317-213621.jpg

Thanks for your prayers. I know they helped sustain us. It will be a hard week. I’m hoping to go back to Chamberlain when the truck comes to get the boat. But with my work schedule and other things going on we’ll see if it’ll work out.

I’m also doing a skit at church on Wednesday night. It’s one I wrote and it’s about grief. As you can imagine I won’t have to really act much. But it’s so emotionally exhausting, even more so than I expected it to be. So I would love your prayers that the Lord would give me strength and use my words and this skit to be an encouragement to others.

signature

2 thoughts on “A few surprises in Chamberlain

    sincerelyanna said:
    April 14, 2013 at 6:03 pm

    I’m catching up on your blog tonight and tears are streaming down my face. Praying for you and learning from your “open book.”

      Missy responded:
      April 14, 2013 at 6:19 pm

      🙂

Leave a Reply

