10,000

Posted on Updated on

This morning in church we sang 10,000 Reasons by Matt Redman. I love this song. It brings me great joy. It reminds me of the goodness of God. As we were singing this thought came to mind:

10,000 trees.

If you live in Sioux Falls or the area you know exactly what I’m talking about. Beginning on Tuesday we were pummeled with an ice and snow storm and I’m pretty sure every single tree in our entire town was damaged. Some of the branches broke, but others, many in fact, split in two or damaged to the point where they can’t be salvaged. Many houses and yards were damaged and many cars were damaged, including my brothers truck.

Now granted, despite all the damage, we are all very fortunate and have so much to be thankful for.

I was especially thankful for the reminder that a friend shared this week:

“Broken trees remind me that the restoration of the world was purchased by a man hanging on a tree.”

And so this morning as we sang 10,000 reasons I thought about the 10,000+ trees that have been broken in our town. And I thought about the tree that Jesus hung on. His body broken. His blood spilling. Because He loves you and me. He hung on the tree, and came back to life, so that we can be healed from the brokenness of our sin.

You’re rich in love, and You’re slow to anger
Your name is great, and Your heart is kind
For all Your goodness I will keep on singing
Ten thousand reasons for my heart to find…

Will you join me in counting the reasons? Perhaps you have alot of branches to clean up in your own yard this week. For each one I encourage you to remember the love of Jesus, remember His gift on the tree, and say a word of thanks.

Maybe you are dealing with much more damage than just branches. Perhaps you are struggling with depression, financial issues, health issues or family circumstances that are painful. Be reminded of the encouragement of this song:

The sun comes up, it’s a new day dawning
It’s time to sing Your song again
Whatever may pass, and whatever lies before me
Let me be singing when the evening comes

It’s a new day. Thank you Jesus. There is breath in my lungs. Thank you Jesus. I have clothes and food and more than I could ever possibly need. Thank you Jesus. I have You and Your love and forgiveness. Thank you Jesus.

Whatever may pass. Whatever lies before me. Let me be singing when the evening comes.

I get a little sad when we sing the last verse.

And on that day when my strength is failing
The end draws near and my time has come
Still my soul will sing Your praise unending
Ten thousand years and then forevermore

Because of course I think of Mom and Dad and of their last day. I think of them and wish that we could have been with them as they passed into Jesus’ arms. I wish that we could have said goodbye and told them how so very much we loved them.

But still my soul will sing God’s praise unending.

Because no matter what. No matter what grief or pain you have endured or are enduring now. No matter what dark valley God is asking you to walk through. There are still 10,000 reasons to praise God.

Of course the most amazing reason is that because of Jesus’ act of love on that tree, we can receive the gift of spending 10,000 years and forevermore with Him in heaven. Isn’t that exciting?! I pray that the joy of His love and the joy of knowing that you have been offered this most amazing gift, will help see you through the darkest of days.

I’m so thankful that Mom and Dad had accepted this gift. I’m so glad we will see them again. We will be able to worship together in heaven. And I hope and pray that you too have received this gift. Join me in blessing the Lord and giving thanks for all that He has given us.

Bless the Lord, O my soul
O my soul
Worship His holy name
Sing like never before
O my soul
I’ll worship Your holy name

Praise the Lord, my soul; all my inmost being, praise his holy name. Praise the Lord, my soul, and forget not all his benefits, who forgives all your sins and heals all your diseases. Psalm 103:1-3

P.S…Reason 10,001: This song just came on the radio as I’m typing this. Thank you Jesus!

signature

2 thoughts on “10,000

    Ben said:
    April 14, 2013 at 10:27 pm

    Thanks Missy for sharing. Reason # 10,002: great friends in Jesus.

      Missy responded:
      April 14, 2013 at 10:31 pm

      Amen!

Leave a Reply

