Wait with me

Posted on Updated on

I said to my friend Liz the other day, “I have no patience.”

And she said, “I KNOW!”

What?! She was supposed to disagree with me, right?! : )

But she was correct. I am not a very patient person. You think I would be. God has certainly been patient with me. In fact I sing this song to the kids that I learned from a friend a very long time ago:

Have patience. Have patience. Don’t be in such a hurry.
When you get. Impatient. You only start to worry.
Remember. Remember. That God is patient too.
Just think of all the times that He has had to wait for you!

(For all you old fogies like me I think this was a Psalty song! : ))

Hee hee. I was talking to Holly about this awhile back and she starting “singing” via text this song to me. I guess I sang it to her too when she was just a youngin’.

So anyway, God has been helping me learn patience lately.  I won’t go into details just yet but for about the past 2-3 months God has been asking me to wait on a number of different things. I say “asking” because we are not puppets and I could easily not wait and just go on and do my own thing. Which I usually do I might add.

But in this season of waiting, especially the past 6-8 weeks, God has so clearly been speaking “wait” to my heart. And it’s hard.

If you’ve read this blog for a while you can probably guess that God uses music to speak to me.  And so of course in this season of waiting, God reminds me of a song today called While I Am Waiting. It’s from the movie Fireproof and it is such a good message of waiting on God.

It’s an especially good message for me because often times while I wait, I also pout and complain and do nothing. I watch too much tv and don’t clean my house and drown my sorrows in cookies at 11:00 at night. Because I don’t want to wait! But ok God I will if I have to. (Que temper tantrum.)

I don’t really think that’s the waiting that God is calling me to. And this song speaks to that.

I will move ahead, bold and confident
Taking every step in obedience
While I’m waiting
I will serve You
While I’m waiting
I will worship
While I’m waiting
I will not faint
I’ll be running the race
Even while I wait

Wow. Powerful stuff. I will serve. I will worship. I will not faint.  Another line talks about being peaceful. Sure, there has been some peace the past months, but for the most part I’ve worried and wondered and pouted. Not so much peace.

Are you too in a waiting season?

Waiting to have a child.

Waiting for a loved one to come to know Jesus.

Waiting for a spouse.

Waiting for a job.

Waiting for healing.

Waiting for a difficult circumstance to change.

And for some reason, God continues to say no. He continues to gently and lovingly whisper “wait”.

My prayer for you tonight, and for myself, is that while we wait we will wait peacefully. We will serve and worship and trust and not grow faint. We will wait in hope. We will wait on the Lord.

I’m waiting
I’m waiting on You, Lord
And I am hopeful
I’m waiting on You, Lord
Though it is painful
But patiently, I will wait

I will move ahead, bold and confident
Takeing every step in obedience
While I’m waiting
I will serve You
While I’m waiting
I will worship
While I’m waiting
I will not faint
I’ll be running the race
Even while I wait

I’m waiting
I’m waiting on You, Lord
And I am peaceful
I’m waiting on You, Lord
Though it’s not easy
But faithfully, I will wait
Yes, I will wait
I will serve You while I’m waiting
I will worship while I’m waiting
I will serve You while I’m waiting
I will worship while I’m waiting
I will serve you while I’m waiting
I will worship while I’m waiting on You, Lord

signature

Leave a Reply

