A Mother’s Legacy

Posted on Updated on

I’ve started three posts about Mom for Mother’s Day. This isn’t one of them. I just can’t seem to find the words to explain the emotions of this day.

-I’m a mom.
-I’m a step-mom.
-I’m a mom through birth and adoption.
-This is the first year I don’t have my mom on Mother’s Day.

One of the posts I had started writing was things we remembered about Mom. I had asked some of our family to share with me.

But what Danelle told me continues to come back to me. And the more I think about it, the more I think that everyone probably feels the same way. This is what she said:

“I remember that whenever I would stop at the gas station that she worked at, she would get this big smile on her face and say ‘hi nelli!’ Like she hadn’t seen me in 2 months even though Id just seen her the day before! It always made me laugh. And I remember that she prayed for me everyday and her prayers saved my life.”

She was always so happy and excited to see family and friends. But more than anything it was her kids and grand kids that brought her so much joy. Anytime we saw her she really did act like we hadn’t seen her in months. I didn’t probably appreciate it over the years. But now more than anything I miss her infectious smile and the joy she had when she was with us.

She was a prayer warrior. Nellie was right, she prayed every day. She prayed us through some of the most challenging of situations.

And so today when I think about my mom and what it means to be a mom, I remember what Danelle shared. And I pray that I too can leave the legacy that Mom left.

A mom always joyful and excited to see her kids, no matter what was going on her life.

A mom prayer warrior, always on her knees, interceding for her kids, grand kids, family, friends and even strangers.

On this Mother’s Day, as painful as it is to not have Mom here, I rejoice in the blessing of her life and in the amazing blessing of my five kids.

Leave a Reply

