I hurt my shoulder

Posted on Updated on

{I’ve been trying to think of a clever title for this post. Obviously I have failed.}

Last month Pat, the kids and I went to Chamberlain to clean Mom and Dad’s house and pick up a few things we wanted to keep. One of those things was their washer and dryer. Unfortunately the dolly cart we were going to use had a flat tire. We had no choice but to haul it down the stairs ourselves and then lift it up into my brother’s pick up truck.

Holy canoly.

Going down the stairs wasn’t too bad – except for the smashed toes and fingers. But when we lifted the washer up into the truck I felt something pull in my shoulder. Ouch. I knew I didn’t tear anything, just pulled a muscle, but it bothered me for a couple weeks.

This morning I was doing some laundry. Well I started to do laundry. I picked up an empty laundry basket and all of a sudden I felt a sharp pain in my shoulder. Sharp, yelling, crying pain. It hurt so bad. I thought for sure I tore something. I yelled for the kids to come help me stick the clothes in the dryer. Caleb kept patting my back and he told Angel, “Angel we need to take care of Mom, ok.” : )

I called the doctor right away and was able to get in pretty quick. Unfortunately I still hadn’t put my contacts in.

Things that are almost impossible to do one-handed: put in contacts.

I was just going to wear my glasses but I get such a bad headache when I wear glasses and so I managed to get my contacts in along with some yelling and tears. My poor kids were traumatized.

Grama was able to watch the kids and so I went to the doctor, fearing that he’d tell me I’d have to have surgery. He didn’t say that, but he didn’t really say anything. He moved my arm around alot, which caused me to act like an idiot and bawl like a baby. I seriously don’t remember ever feeling such pain – except maybe when I attempted to birth my big-headed Caleb.

Doc said I should wear a sling, ice and medicate myself as needed. And then if it still hurts in ten days to come back. Um, ok? I guess I didn’t expect the whole ten day thing, especially considering how much pain I’m in.

20130528-182907.jpg

I guess that’s good news though. I’m thinking surgery might just be the thing that would send me over the cliff right now.

And maybe it’s the pain meds but so far I’m not freaking out too bad about being one-handed for the next week. I mean, there’s not really much I need to get done, right?

20130528-195513.jpg

{HAHAHAHA}

Here’s to slowing down, watching sunsets and enjoying the gift we’ve been given of living in the country.

{Those who know me well are saying, “Yes, it’s definitely the pain meds.”}

signature

3 thoughts on “I hurt my shoulder

    Hubby said:
    May 28, 2013 at 7:43 pm

    At least nothings broken… 🙂

    Missy responded:
    May 28, 2013 at 7:46 pm

    Oh that was harsh. Looks like I won’t be doing laundry for awhile. 🙂

    sincerelyanna said:
    May 28, 2013 at 10:02 pm

    Oh no, Missy! I hope you feel better soon. I’m saying a prayer for you!

Leave a Reply

