A new conflict resolution technique

Posted on

Patrick and I attended a marriage mentoring training last week. I know it’s a tad bit scary to think about us being marriage mentors, right?

Don’t answer that.

Anyway, we were shown a video and it has literally transformed how I handle conflict with the kids.

HAHAHAHA! That’s horrible, right?! But also so funny.

I decided I’d try it with the kids because they are CONSTANTLY bickering and complaining and whining. And I’m tired of ALWAYS bickering and complaining and whining at them to stop the bickering and complaining and whining.

Angel has the most amazing personality – she is very black and white. And she has a four-year old brother who likes to make up stories and is very imaginative and such. So this causes them to argue about everything.

I, of course, wasn’t as harsh as Bob was in the video. But now when they start arguing or bickering and it goes on and on and on (because despite the fact that I HATE the conflict I need to help them learn how to communicate and disagree in a good way), I have started the “STOP IT technique”.

Angel: MOM! …….

Me: Stop it!

Caleb: MOM! …….

Me: Stop it!

Angel: But….. Caleb….. he always….. I can’t…..

Me: Stop it!

Caleb: But….. Angel….. she never….. why can’t I…..

Me: Stop it!

And on and on and on. Until we are laughing so hard that they’ve stopped bickering and have forgotten about whatever tiny little thing they were even arguing about.

It’s awesome. And for a very small moment in time, I don’t feel like a complete mom failure! Woo hoo!

What’s even more awesome about this is that Angel actually invented the “STOP IT technique” when she was just a toddler.

I wonder how our marriage mentoring will go if we use the “STOP IT” technique!?

signature

One thought on “A new conflict resolution technique

    Stacey Banister said:
    June 27, 2013 at 9:16 am

    Love it Missy!

Leave a Reply

