The things they say

Posted on

I posted yesterday about Caleb having a girlfriend.

Someone mentioned that maybe he doesn’t even know what it means to have a girlfriend. So I thought I’d ask him.

Me: Caleb do you know what it means to have a girlfriend?

Caleb: Ya.

Me: Ok, what?

Caleb: I don’t know. I forgot.

Angel: It means that you like that person. And she’s a girl. And you go out on dates.

Me: Really.

Angel: Yep.

Caleb: Ya, that’s what it means. You go on dates.

Me: What’s a date?

Caleb: Well you go to lunch and stuff.

~~~~~~~~

I was attempting to find a new address the other day and I let out a sigh of frustration because I couldn’t find it.

Angel: Mom are we lost?

Me: No, I just can’t find the place I’m looking for.

{pause}

Me: Well, I guess that means we’re lost.

Angel: It’s a big world, isn’t it Mama.

~~~~~~~~

Anytime I give Caleb anything, and I mean anything, he runs to me fast as he can and lunges himself into my arms for a hug.

And then he says with as much emotion as he can muster, “Mom. I love you!”

For example, the other morning I just packed their clothes in a bag and let them wear their pj’s to Grama Barb’s house. He was digging in the bag and saw the shirt I packed.

He said, “Mom! That was the shirt I wanted!” and then runs and gives me a huge hug.

I wonder if he’ll do that when he realizes that he seriously can’t have a girlfriend until he’s WAY older! : )

signature

Leave a Reply

