A sweet purpose

Posted on

When you are in the middle of a storm, it’s hard to believe that there is a sweet purpose for what you are experiencing.

Even after you’ve weathered the storm and have come through to the other side, it’s difficult to trust that there was and is a reason for what God is calling you to walk through.

I was watching videos from the website “I Am Second” the other day. One that really stood out to me was Lauren Scruggs’ video, and in particular something she said.

“When I was in the hospital, my dad would read the Psalms to me and he would remind me that the Lord had a sweet purpose for this and that He was pouring out His grace over me.”

Sweet purpose.

When all you feel is pain and anger and grief, it’s almost impossible to see the sweet.

But it is there. You may not see it today or tomorrow or even a year from now. But the promises of God’s Word reminds us that we can put our hope and faith in Him.

This is the picture I took tonight.

IMG_4854

Have you ever noticed that often times clouds make a sunset more glorious?

Just like a cloud-filled sunset, the Lord will often allow “clouds” into a life, in order to bring beauty.

But through it all, He wants to pour out His grace over you.

He alone can take something dark and overwhelming and dreadful and make it sweet.

I remember my affliction and my wandering, the bitterness and the gall. I well remember them, and my soul is downcast within me. Yet this I call to mind and therefore I have hope: Because of the Lord ’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. Lamentations 3:19-23

signature

One thought on “A sweet purpose

    Jerri McKinle said:
    July 27, 2013 at 2:03 pm

    Missy,
    My prayers are still wih you everyday in the loss of your parents. My Mom passed away in 1979 and I still miss her everyday. Most of the memories are sweet but the longing for her perists. What would we do without the goodness and grace of God and knowing that we will be reunited in haven for all eternity?
    Love you sister,

Leave a Reply

