A bittersweet job change

Posted on

I’ve kinda been hush hush about some recent changes in our life. Mostly because I’m not sure what tomorrow will bring, so I didn’t want to share until it got a little closer.

I think I’ve mentioned in the past that Pat and I have been thinking about and praying about me getting a different job so that I could be home more in the evenings and weekends. Especially as Angel starts Kindergarten in the Fall, I wouldn’t get to see her very much working evenings. We also felt that we needed to find a more consistent schedule if we could. It’s tough on the kids, especially Angel, when week to week our schedule is different.

I’m happy to say I found a position that appears to be almost too good to be true! It’s a small HR company and I’ll be the Administrative Assistant, which is a new position, so we will kind of develop the position as we go. I’ll work around 20 hours a week, flexible hours and mostly when the kids are in school. I have a background in HR, Marketing and Training and that is what they do, so to begin with I’ll be helping out in the office and helping the HR Consultants, but eventually it could lead to more actual HR, Marketing and Training work.  The owner has been beyond accommodating for me and I am so thankful. Plus no weekends or holidays – yeah!

Then why the “bittersweet” in the title of this post?

Well because of this new position, I have to leave my current position at Ask-A-Nurse. I’ve only been there for 2.5 years, but it feels like I’ve been there forever. They really are my family, my surrogate moms, and the hands and feet of Jesus, especially this past year. I know that God brought me there because He knew I would need them during this past year.

I have certainly enjoyed past positions that I’ve had. However, I’ve never worked with a more caring, compassionate and loving group of people. There are 21 women and 1 man in the AAN office. And in the past 2.5 years I’ve rarely heard a negative word said about another co-worker. There’s been very very very little inter-office bickering or complaining. Instead there is constant care and concern.

And so it makes me so sad (in fact fighting back tears now. ug.) to have to leave. I know it’s what’s best for our family, for my kids and for my marriage. But man, will I miss my job and especially my co-workers. I know that they’ll always be my “family” and I’m hoping to continue to attend the monthly birthday lunches, and of course I’ll have to deliver eggs! : )

My last day at Ask-A-Nurse is August 14th and I start my new job on August 19th. My sister and I have been talking about sending the kids up to her for “Aunt Nellie Bootcamp” since school doesn’t start until after Labor Day. Haha.

We would appreciate your prayers over the next few weeks as we transition to a new schedule!

signature

Leave a Reply

