Firsts and lasts

Posted on

LAST

Last night was my last shift with Ask A Nurse. They had a little going away party for me on Tuesday. Man, I’m going to miss these amazing people.

IMG_5153[1]

The spread. Best cooks in America, right here at Ask A Nurse!

IMG_5154[1]

My best bud Erin. She has been my rock (other than Jesus of course). She is the funniest person I’ve ever met in my life. And she tells me to quit buying goats (so she’s kinda like my sister! ; )). God knew I would need her for so many reasons. One example being the first night back to work after Mom and Dad died. I had went on my break and automatically went to text Mom. Because it was what I did on every break.  Realizing that I could no longer do this, I had the worst meltdown ever. She was working that night and she took care of me and sent me home.  Even though I won’t see her at work, I know that we’ll be friends for life. I’m pretty sure she’s going to help us butcher chickens next time. HAHAHA.

IMG_5158[1]

My friend Amy. She’s had the kiddos over to her house to play and she makes the most amazing furniture and décor. She’s otherwise known as Fancified Designs on Facebook (you should follow her!).

IMG_5159[1]

One of my many surrogate Mamas, Jackie. There aren’t enough words to describe how amazing this lady is! So thankful for her!

IMG_5161[1]

The other call reps. LaRae, Tonya and Corinne. We are missing one – Candice – who just moved to NE. Amazing ladies.

IMG_5163[1]

Audrey. Not only my co-worker and friend, but now my neighbor! Yeah!! We live about a mile from them now. Another one of my surrogate Mamas – so thankful for her encouragement and support the past year.

IMG_5164[1]

I could take a picture with every one of these amazing ladies and write a mile long post. In the pink – that’s Bev. She always brings me stuff for the kids. She has been an amazing surrogate Mom and Grama.

IMG_5166[1]

I know I’ve already talked about my time at Ask A Nurse. But again, I cannot say enough about what a generous, caring group of people this is.

IMG_5194[1]

Susan and Monte – the best supervisors I’ve ever had! (For reals.)

While I’m going to miss this fine group of people, I’m not going to miss working nights and weekends!

FIRST and LAST

For my first weekend as a non-weekend worker, we are heading up to the Cities to spend time with Holly and Timothy.

(Don’t even think about stealing our chickens. Our guard dog is ferocious. For reals.)

We are also going to get to see my uncle Pat (my mom’s brother), aunt Vivian, and some of my cousins. That will be great!

And we might do a little shopping. Maybe. Perhaps.

It will also be our last little road trip before the kiddos start school and I start my regular schedule at my new job.

FIRST and LAST

Last night when I got home at 12:30 am, I was welcomed by this:

IMG_5202[1]

Woo hoo!! Today is my first day on the Better Body System. I contemplated whether or not to wait to start after our weekend trip. But I so badly need to get healthy. And I still get to eat anyway (healthy real food), so hopefully it won’t be too tough.

Starting the BBS today, also means that this is the last day (actually yesterday) of feeling like crud. Sure I might feel a little icky the first few days as I detox, although a lot of people on the system don’t have any negative side effects from the detox. So we shall see. Either way, it’ll be worth it to get healthy. I’m so ready for a total health transformation!

I’ve really struggled the past year with “what’s the point.”  Considering that fact that God numbers or days and will take us when He wills it. In the blink of an eye we will be gone. Does it really matter than, what I eat or how healthy I am?

I know that sounds silly – but that has been my logic. And even after committing to the Better Body System last week, I’ve struggled with it.

But God has been faithful to speak to me. The past three days – these have been the verses of the day I read through Bible Gateway:

Today: If we live, it’s to honor the Lord. And if we die, it’s to honor the Lord. So whether we live or die, we belong to the Lord. Romans 14:8

Yesterday: Do you know that your bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your bodies. 1 Corinthians 6:19-20

Day Before Yesterday: For it is God who works in you to will and to act in order to fulfill his good purpose. Philippians 2:13

For reals??

So yes, God does number our days. But the days we do have here on earth, we are to honor Him and honor the bodies He has given us. I’ve definitely not been doing that.

But today is the last day of saying, “who cares,” and “it doesn’t matter.”  And it’s the first day of doing what’s right for me, my body, and my family!

LAST

This is the last post the I use “for reals” as many times as I have. For reals.

signature

Leave a Reply

