5 Minute Friday: Last

Posted on Updated on

Two Friday posts?

“Where are your children?” you ask.

“Don’t you have chickens to feed or something?”

I recently found Lisa Jo Baker’s blog and I’m prompted to join along with today’s 5 Minute writing challenge.

Write for 5 minutes, no stopping, no editing, no over-thinking… just write.

The topic is “Last.”

And go.

~~~

The last time I saw her was at Ruby Tuesdays. Her and dad had had the kids for a few days, giving me and Pat a little break from the craziness of parenthood.

We met in Mitchell, half way. And she invited us to go to Ruby Tuesday. She would buy.

Dad couldn’t come. He was working on something on the boat.

I ordered the salad bar and shared with Angel.

She ordered the salmon and baked potato and said that she was going to bring half of it home for Dad.

We talked about life. We tried to get the kids to eat. They told me about their mini-vacation with Grama and Papa.

They got to sleep on the boat. They went fishing. There was no greater joy than time spent on the river with their grandparents.

It got late. We still had an hour drive home. It was time to say goodbye.

She asked the waitress for a to-go box, because she did in fact save half her meal for Dad.

That’s what they did. They took care of each other. They shared everything.

We walked out into the parking lot. I noticed that she was driving Leana’s blue car.

She gave the kids hugs. She turned to me and gave me a hug.

She said I love and drive safe.

She got in her car and drove over to the gas station to get gas.

It was the last time I’d see her.

The last time to say I love you.

The last time to see her tired smile and sparkling blue eyes.

The last time to hear her desire to be used of God.

The last time I saw my mom.

I hate Ruby Tuesday.

~~~

And stop.

Wow, that was hard not to edit. But good.

If you are needing some encouragement today, check out Lisa’s blog. Great stuff there. And there are lots of other links for 5 Minute Friday.

4 thoughts on “5 Minute Friday: Last

    benbidder said:
    August 23, 2013 at 8:43 am

    Oh my goodness. 😦 What a story in just five minutes. Sending hugs to you..

      Missy responded:
      August 23, 2013 at 9:51 pm

      Thanks so much!

    Kim Hyland said:
    August 23, 2013 at 9:01 pm

    I am still catching my breath. So much sorrow. Such precious sweet last memories. This comes to mind . . “Teach us to number our days, that we may gain a heart of wisdom.”

      Missy responded:
      August 23, 2013 at 9:51 pm

      Oh yes, amen. Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

Leave a Reply

