Even when war looms

Posted on

Our worship director posted a song on Facebook yesterday.

I sat at the computer and wept as I listened.  As I read the words and really listened to the promises that the Lord God gives.

And then today I came across this video. I was going to share it, and I guess I kind of am sharing it. But instead of writing a big dissertation of my political views and how we should or shouldn’t, I want to instead, share this precious song with you.

I have been fearful lately. Fearful that we are on the verge of war. Fearful of what that will lead to. Fearful of the world my precious children will have to live in.

As you well know the past year has been filled with grief and heartache for our family. But my heart is also heavy and weary for many other family and friends who face disappointment and grief and fear on a daily basis.  I am daily reminded that this world is not our home.

And it’s because of the fact that this world is not our home, that we can rest in God. That we can still our soul and find our hope in Him.  That we can release all the fear and disappointment and grief to Him. He who is faithful to remain through it all.

I so want to encourage you today.  I want to encourage you to listen to this song and really hear the words. The powerful, beautiful words of this old hymn. The promises of God walking with us through the trials we must face in this lifetime. And the promises of our home in heaven, for those who have a life surrendered to Jesus.

Disappointment gone. Sorrow forgot. Love’s purest joys restored. Change and tears are past. All safe and blessed, we shall meet the Lord at last.

Most importantly, I also want to encourage that person who is reading this, who does not have a life surrendered to Jesus. Oh precious one, I weep now for you, because our time here on this earth is so short. Whether it be sickness or accident or war in Syria that brings about your last breath, it will come. Do not wait. Do not waste another moment. Place your life within God’s hands today.

Be still, my soul, The Lord is on thy side.
Bear patiently, The cross of  grief or pain.
Leave to thy God, to order and provide.
In every change,  He faithful will remain.
Be still, my soul, Thy best they heavenly Friend.
Through thorny ways, Leads to a joyful end.

Be still, my soul, thy  God doth undertake.
To guide the future as He has the past.
Thy hope,  thy confidence, let nothing shake.
All now mysterious shall be bright at  last.
Be still, my soul, the waves and wind still know.
His voice who  ruled them while He dwelt below.

In You I rest, In You I found my hope.
In You I trust, You never let me go.
I place my life within Your hands  alone.
Be still, my soul.

Be still, my soul, the hour is hastening  on.
When we shall be forever with the Lord.
When disappointment, grief  and fear are gone.
Sorrow forgot, Love’s purest joys restored.
Be still, my soul, when change and tears are past.
All safe and blessed, we  shall meet at last.

In You I rest, In You I found my hope.
In You I  trust, You never let me go.
I place my life within Your hands alone.
Be  still, my soul. (repeat)

Be still, my soul
Be still, my soul
Be  still, my soul

signature

One thought on “Even when war looms

    Jerri McKinley said:
    September 5, 2013 at 9:19 pm

    Missy,
    Praying for you, your family, and all of God’s people all over the world that we might be spared the agony of another war of any kind, anywhere on this planet. It will be by the grace of God that we will be saved and all Christians need to spread the gospel like never before. We have work to do and pray that the Almighty God will give us the strength and endurance to stay the course.
    God Bless you sister.

Leave a Reply

